Amanda B.

Education

Westminster Choir College of Rider University, Bachelor of Music, Music Theater

Childcare Experience

Temporary Part-time Nanny
Garrison, NY, 11/2012 - 04/13
Girl, age 3 months-7 months
Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 04/11 - 11/12
Girl, age 8-10; boy, age 7-8; girl, age 4-5
Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 07/11 - 05/12
Two boys, ages 1 and 4
Part-time Babysitter
Cold Spring, NY, 2000 - 2007
Girl, age 2-9; girl, age infant-7; boy, age infant-5

Professional Experience

Women’s Department Team Leader
New York, NY, 08/10 - 05/11
Cashier/Greeter
Princeton, NJ, 05/09 - 05/10

About Me

I love expressing myself through creative outlets, and that definitely influences how I approach childcare. I think the arts are an amazing way to connect with children, and to help children express and grow as individuals. In addition to performing, I have also been lucky enough to work for loving families and great children of all ages for over ten years. I find childcare very fulfilling because I am able to watch these wonderful children grow, learn, and flourish. Also, I’m used to working with big families so organization and multitasking is a most.

When working with children, I think it is important to provide a loving, but structured environment. I think it is important to engage with the children that I am caring for, and to make sure that the children know that I am present and interested in what they have to say. I also like to be creative with children. It is fun to sing, write stories and songs, color, bake/cook with them (if the child is old enough to help), read, and do arts and crafts. I also like to take children to the park and get them up and moving.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing my love of entertaining.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Still be performing in New York City, and maybe have a family of my own.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Piano, flute, basic French, cooking