Andrea C.

Education

New York University, B.A., Print journalism

Childcare Experience

Evening and Occasional Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/05 - Present
Two boys, infant-3.5 and infant-5.5; girl, age 3-11
Home Health Aide
Reading, PA, 01/08 - 12/08
Girl, age 11 with cerebral palsy
Soccer coach
New York, NY, 09/07 - 12/08
Boys and girls, ages 3 to 12
Summer camp counselor
Alburtis, PA, Summers 2003-2006
Boys and girls, ages 5 to 16

Professional Experience

Editorial Assistant
New York, NY, 08/05 - Present
Nurse Aide
Reading, PA, 05/07 - 08/07

About Me

I moved to Manhattan from Pennsylvania in 2005 to attend NYU. I have worked for a national magazine for four years, but dream now of being a physician assistant. I got my start as a babysitter when I was 13, caring for my mom’s coworkers’ children. My mom taught me every trick I know: If I run out of songs to sing when putting a baby to sleep, Christmas carols offer an endless reserve; patience, respect, and structure are key to building a positive rapport with a child; I can never be too cautious when watching someone’s son or daughter; and, finally, as much as I have to offer a child, he or she has just as much to offer me.

I still babysit for the couple I met when I moved here 8 years ago. Their family now includes two boys (ages 3.5 and 5.5 years) and an 11-year-old girl. Two summers ago, I traveled with them all to England. It’s been a pleasure becoming a part of this family and watching the children develop.

A bit more about me: I often play soccer with friends on Sunday afternoons. In my free time I volunteer with the Starlight Children’s Foundation and New York Cares. I love to sing. I know some Spanish and American Sign Language. I can play piano, but only half as well as I’d like!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Completing the necessary prerequisites and application process to be considered for physician assistant programs.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as a physician assistant in an emergency room or in a family practice.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Soccer, baseball, gymnastics, singing, piano playing, crafts