Chiara C.

Education

Connecticut College, B. A. in Art History

Childcare Experience

Education Intern at Museum of Fine Arts
Boston, MA, 06/13 - 08/13
Children, aged 5-18

Arts & Crafts Counselor
Copake, NY, 06/11 - 08/11
Boys and Girls, aged 5-16

Intern at von Liebig Art Center
Naples, FL, 06/10 - 08/10
Boys and girls, aged 5-12

Babysitter
Naples, FL, 06/10 - 08/10
Girl age 6, boy age 2

Babysitter
Naples, FL, 06/10 - 08/10
Girl age 7, girl age 9

Babysitter
Naples, FL, 09/07 - 06/08
Girl, age 2

Professional Experience

Peer Tutor at Roth Writing Center Connecticut College
New London, CT, 12/12 - 05/14

Gallery Assistant
New London, CT, 09/11 - 12/12

Conn College Tour Guide
New London, CT, 09/11 - 09/13

Waitress
Great Barrington, MA, 06/12 - 08/12

About Me

During college, I spent several summers working with children in programs that encouraged fun and meaningful engagement with the visual arts. At the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, I guided groups of students through the museum and discussed art with the children in an age-appropriate way. We then made a craft based on the art we’d seen. Based on this positive experience, I hope to pursue museum education as a career trajectory.

Additionally, I worked as an arts & crafts counselor at a sleep-away camp. My lifelong love of reading has inspired me to share stories with children: I have worked as a reading tutor to third-grade students and developed the skills to coach and support young readers.

When working with children, I try to incorporate learning into every activity, while cultivating a safe but easygoing atmosphere. I love to paint and draw, and enjoy sharing these activities with children. I also enjoy visiting museums (and of course, bringing kids along!) as well as reading, swimming, knitting, and playing tennis. I am active, upbeat, and positive, and love to get kids excited about learning!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Searching for jobs and internships in museums and galleries.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in the education department of an art museum.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Painting and other art projects, knitting, cooking, tennis, spending time outdoors.