Christa R.

Education

Hunter College, CUNY, Candidate for M.Ed., Childhood Education
Villanova University, B.S., Accountancy, B.S.-B.A., Finance, International Business

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter / Homework Helper
New York, NY, 02/11 - Present
Boy, age 6-7 (occasional assistance with boy/girl twins age 4 months-1.5 years)
Weekend Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/11 - Present
Girl, age 2-3; boy, infant-2
After-school Babysitter / Mother's Helper
New York, NY, 09/11 - 12/11
Girl, age 9; boy, age 7
After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 04/11 - 07/11
Boy, age 9-10
Weekend / Occasional Babysitter
Lancaster, Ohio, 02/00 - 08/09
Boy, infant-9; girl, infant 1-6

Professional Experience

Staff Accountant
New York, NY, 09/09 - 02/11
Summer Analyst - Legal, Compliance, and Audit
New York, NY, 06/08-08/08
Customer Service Representative and Float Teller
Lancaster, OH, Summers/Winters 2006-2007

About Me

Formerly an accountant and CPA by trade, I left my job as an auditor with a big four firm to pursue what I truly love – working with children. I am currently studying for my Master’s Degree in Childhood Education from Hunter College. When people say children are the future, I wholeheartedly agree, but I also want to add that kids are enlightening, loving, and fun to be around! I grew up in a small suburban town in Ohio, and have been babysitting and caring for kids of all ages since I was 12 years old. I would love to find a family for whom I can care for and enrich their child(ren)’s lives.

I left Ohio to attend Villanova University. I originally entered the College of Liberal Arts for a year, but found that business was what I wanted to pursue. After interning for an investment bank the summer before my senior year in New York City, I fell in love with the area and after graduating, I moved to New York and started work as an accountant for a public firm in the city. My hobbies include playing sports of all kinds, playing piano (I studied for 15 years), reading, and spending time with my friends. I am finishing up my Master’s in Childhood Education, and I love exploring the city and all it has to offer with my friends!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Finishing my Master's Degree in Childhood Education and completing student teaching.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Teaching students in my own classroom!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I enjoy lots of sports including basketball, volleyball and softball. I speak Spanish conversationally, and I enjoy playing the piano.