Claire A.

Education

Beloit College, B.A. in English (Rhetoric and Discourse) and Theater Arts (Dance)

Childcare Experience

Summer Nanny
Evanston, IL, 05/13 - 06/13
One girl, age 9

Kid's Club Camp Coordinator
Evanston, IL, 01/11 - 01/13
Children, ages 3-10

Babysitter
Evanston, IL, 02/04 - 09/13
Two girls, infant-10

Evening Babysitter
Evanston, IL, 06/09 - 06/13
Two boys, ages 3-12

Camp Counselor
Muckwanago, WI, 06/08 & 06/09
Girls, ages 10-11

Dance Teacher for Children with Special Needs
Evanston, IL, 01/09 - 05/09
Children, ages 2-10

Professional Experience

Research Assistant
Beloit, WI and Prague, Czech Republic, 10/12 - 08/13

Tour Guide
Beloit, WI, 08/11 - 05/13

Dance Costume Coordinator
Beloit, WI, 08/10 - 05/13

Administrative Assistant and Childcare Professional
Evanston, IL, 06/10 - 01/13

American Dance Festival Costume Intern
Durham, NC, 06/11 - 08/11

About Me

I am a recent college graduate, but I see myself as a life-long learner and I am always looking for new ways to keep my mind and body active. I love working with children because they encourage my own curiosity. They point out things I take for granted, and challenge me with questions I don’t know the answers to. From homework help to museum visits, I learn right alongside the children I care for, encouraging their natural interests and fostering an environment of curiosity, creativity, and compassion. Over the past ten years, I have worked with children in many different capacities from neighborhood babysitter, camp counselor, after-school tutor, dance instructor, and day-camp organizer. Each position taught me new lessons about how to best engage and support young minds.

I am recent transplant to New York City, so I am currently enjoying exploring the city and all it has to offer! When not working on my own dance, art, and dressmaking projects, you can find me in the audience of a dance performance, combing thrift stores for hidden treasures, or catching some sunshine with a good book in hand.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for dance projects and producing my own choreography.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Touring internationally with my own dance company!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am close to fluent in Spanish and love to practice. I love to teach arts and crafts, anything from origami to painting to sewing. I also love to teach dance and movement to little (and not so little)ones.