Claire D.

Education

University of Texas at Austin, B.A. Art History

Childcare Experience

Evening Babysitter
Austin, TX and New York, 08/12 - Present
Boy, 4 months - 1

Part-Time Nanny
Austin, TX, 08/12 - 07/13
Boy, age 4 months - 16 months

Part-Time Nanny
Austin, TX, 03/12 - 07/13
Boy, 8 months; Two girls, ages 5 and 7

Evening Babysitter
Austin, TX, 08/12 - 07/13
Boy, 8 months - 2

Professional Experience

Assistant/After School/Substitute Teacher
Austin, TX, 05/08 - 05/13

Marketing Assistant at the Visual Arts Center
Austin, TX, 07/11 - 06/12

About Me

I am a new resident of New York City. Up until my move from Austin, Texas, I worked as a part-time nanny and at St. Georges Episcopal Day School where I worked for four years as an after-school, assistant and substitute teacher. I like to incorporate art, music and dance into daily activates. I also encourage a healthy, active lifestyle, which includes lots of outdoors time and healthy eating habits. I am an experience potty trainer and am capable of teaching basic lessons in art (painting, drawing, photography etc.), piano and acting as a tutor for elementary age students.

I firmly believe in the importance of early childhood education as a key tool for healthy development. Children should be provided a fun, caring and safe environment in which to develop and explore new skills. With positive reinforcement and firm, but gentle direction, I strive to help children reach their greatest potential. I believe playtime can become educationally valuable by fostering of activities and opportunities for children that encourage curiosity and exploration. I hope to bring my experience to a family who has an interest in promoting their child’s creative potential.

Ultimately, I plan on going back to school to get my Masters (maybe even PhD) in art history, but would like to spend a few years working and living before I continue my education. I am an avid reader, writer and occasional artist with a deep interest in contemporary art. I play piano and ukulele and spend my free time visiting galleries and museums and enjoying the company of my friends.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I will be SmartSitting while I am applying to graduate school and, hopefully, interning/working at an art gallery.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In five years I hope to be working towards my PhD in Art History with the ultimate goal of becoming a professor.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Piano, basic tutoring, art (painting, photography, drawing, sculpture), Swimming, dancing, healthy eating, exploring museums