Dorothy S.

Education

Mount Holyoke College, B.A. English and Religion

Childcare Experience

Occasional Babysitter
Morganton, NC; New York, NY, 2005 to Present
Children, ages 6 months to 13 years

Counselor and Assistant Bus Captain at Camp Hillard
Scarsdale, NY, 06/12 - 08/12
Children, ages 4-11

Nanny
Morganton, NC, 05/10 - 08/10 and 05/11 - 08/11
Two girls, ages 6-11

Assistant to the Youngers Program, The American Adventure Service Corps
Morganton, NC, 08/07 - 05/08 and 08/08 - 05/09
Children, ages 8-13

Professional Experience

Temp Administrative and Office Support
New York, NY, 06/13 - present

About Me

I graduated from Mount Holyoke College in May and, rather than returning to my home state of North Carolina, decided my next big adventure would be moving to NYC. While the transition has been a challenge, I’ve kept myself busy and explored the city by keeping active, connecting with other alumnae from my college, and doing volunteer work. I find that there’s no better way to visit new neighborhoods than by doing activities that I love while helping out!

Growing up in the Appalachians, spending time in the outdoors has always been important to me. Though I looked after my siblings and cousins growing up, my most formative experience with children was when I was the assistant in a outdoor and service program in high school. In addition to helping lead hiking and backpacking trips, I taught outdoor safety, rock climbing, belaying, and other outdoor skills to kids ages 8 to 13. During two consecutive summers between college I was a nanny for two girls ages 6 to 11 for 30+ hours each week and was responsible for preparing meals, providing transportation, and arranging activities. Last summer I had another great experience working with kids while I was a counselor and assistant bus captain at Camp Hillard in Scarsdale, NY.

When working with children I encourage creativity and healthy, active lifestyles. I am a bit of a bookworm, so I love to read with kids and I’m comfortable helping out with homework!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Applying and interviewing for full-time employment in the non-profit sector, hopefully working for an organization related to education or education reform. Eventually I will start studying for the GRE and getting ready for graduate school.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In the middle of graduate school, earning a degree that will prepare me for my dream job. Also, I hope to have finally figured out a way to do some more hiking and backpacking outside of the city!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I'm very crafty and love to do creative activities with children. Though I'm no master chef, I like to bake and do simple cooking (like decorating cookies) with kids that I babysit. Because I love the outdoors, I enjoy spending time with children outside, playing games or exploring parks.