Elaina W.

Education

Miami University, Bachelor's in Mass Communication, and Zoology

Childcare Experience

Guest Experience Educational Interpreter
Columbus, OH, 04/12 - 08/13
Children, all ages; Camp groups, ages K-5

Babysitter
Grove City, OH, 2008 - 2012
Two girls, ages 6-10 and 1-4, boy age 4-8

Babysitter
Grove City, OH, 2006 - 2012
Girl age 2-8, boy age 4-10

Tutor
Grove City, OH, 2006 - 2008
Girl, age 10-12

Tutor
Grove City, OH, 2005 - 2006
Girl, age 11

Professional Experience

Counter Server
New York, NY, 05/14 - 06/14

Sustainability Manager for the Green Team
Oxford, OH, 2012 - 2014

Project Dragonfly Administrative Assistant
Oxford, OH, 2011 - 2014

SoHi Grilled Sandwiches Sandwichmaker
Oxford, OH, 11/13 - 06/14

Columbus Zoo Seasonal Keeper
Columbus, OH, Summer 2011

About Me

I am the oldest of six children and from the suburbs of Ohio and I have been raised with a strong value of family. I absolutely love helping children learn and become the creative individuals they are meant to be. I’ve spent many summers since my teenage years working at the Columbus Zoo, working to enrich the experience of both guest and campers grades K-5, and I love the moment a child’s eyes light up as I tell the cool animal facts. In addition to working with kids at interactive exhibits, hosting silly puppet shows, and taking camp groups on tours around the zoo each summer, I have spent lots of time babysitting for two families in my neighborhood, as well as much of my extended family.

I am pursuing a career in television production and writing, and thus am a great advocate for creating silly and fun videos with children. My siblings and I have made fake weather forecasts, music videos, and even a superhero flick! I love making cookies, doing arts and crafts, and reading. Museums and libraries are always the first places I visit in new cities, and the array in NYC is almost overwhelming!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Writing and pursuing a career in television production, which may include interviews or working as a production assistant on independent projects.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Writing for an on-air television show, or even being in one!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Wideo production (whether it's a documentary about the local park, or an adventure about finding a missing sock!), making art from household items, appreciating nature and animals.