Elizabeth B.

Education

The King's College, B.A., Politics, Philosophy, and Economics

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY , 03/13 - Present
Girl, 6 months
Occasional Babysitter
Lubbock, TX, 06/09 - 08/10
Three girls, age 10-11, 9-10, 7-8; boy, 6-7
Part-time Babysitter
Lubbock, TX, Summer 2007 - Summer 2010
Three boys, age 9-12, 8-11, 5-8
Occasional Babysitter
Arlington, TX, 09/05 - 05/07
Two girls, age 5-7 and infant-2
Daycare Teacher
Lubbock, TX, 06/11 - 08/11
Boys and girls, age 20-24 months

Professional Experience

Childcare Worker
New York, NY, 08/10 - 05/11
Childcare Worker / Teacher's Assistant
Lubbock, TX, 09/06 - 08/08

About Me

I have worked as a babysitter for children of all ages for twelve years. When working with children, I am a strong advocate of positive reinforcement. I believe that boundaries are important, but that it is equally vital to emphasize encouragement, praising a child for sharing or listening, and telling them what a good helper they are becoming. I am proficient in the art of pretend and imaginative games, although I am terrible at chess. I love the pure, unadulterated imagination that comes pouring out of children. Defeating a dragon by feeding it frozen apple juice and weekly tea times with some very dignified young ladies are among my fondest memories. I am committed to encouraging creativity and excellence in children in a fun way while providing an atmosphere of safety and calm.

In my spare time, I enjoy jogging around Green-Wood Cemetery, dabbling in writing, drinking buckets of tea over lively conversation with friends, and reading classic literature of the likes of E. Nesbit, C.S. Lewis, and George MacDonald.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending the King’s College and performing with the Ugly Bunnies, an improv comedy troupe at my school, on a weekly basis.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Pursuing writing and motherhood as my full-time all the time jobs.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am excellent with writing. In addition, I grew up being homeschooled and have acted as the primary teacher for homeschooled families with a focus on reading, writing, and mathematics.