Elizabeth F.

Education

New York University, Candidate for Masters in Social Work
University of California, Santa Barbara, B.A., Sociology

Childcare Experience

Friday Evening Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/13 - Present
Girl, age 9; girl, age 3
Morning Babysitter
New York, NY, 11/12 - Present
Girl, age 6; girl, age 2
Sunday Babysitter
New York, NY, 11/12 - Present
Girl, age 11; boy, age 9
Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/10 - 08/11
Girl, age 1
After-school Nanny
Dana Point, CA, September 2011- June 2012
Boy, age 10; Boy, age 4

Professional Experience

Software Team Member
Aliso Viejo, CA, 08/11- 06/12
City Year New York Team Leader
New York, NY, 06/10 - 06/11
Recreational Leader
Santa Barbara, CA, 11/09 - 06/10
Community Service Leader
Irvine, CA, 10/07 - 09/12
Party Coordinator
Irvine, CA, 02/06 - 12/06

About Me

After graduating from the University of California, I moved to New York City to do an Americorps Program called City Year where I learned how to apply my social skills and leadership skills and teach them to middle school students. I was able to create a fun, education-based curriculum for the students.

In addition, I have also worked as a babysitter in two different states with many different families. I have assisted with various tasks around the house and transporting kids to and from activities. I have also been a tutor for many of these students and have worked on teaching Spanish to a few. I am a great cook and love to teach children how to create tasty yet healthy meal options.

I am passionate about teaching children how to properly express themselves and creating a fun and safe high-energy environment. I work hard to promote safety while ensuring that the children are having fun. I believe it is important to encourage imagination for children as it will allow them to personally grow. I enjoy being active, jogging, playing soccer, listening to music, going on walks, reading books, and crafting. I am very creative and can come up with last minute activities and crafts on the spot. I believe I am at my best when I am helping children discover what they are capable of achieving.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working towards a Masters degree in Social Work at NYU and interning three times a week at Hudson Guild, a community based organization in Chelsea.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In a school based setting working as a social worker.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Spanish (native speaker)