Emily A.

Education

The King's College, B.A., Politics, Philosophy and Economics

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
Orlando, FL, 02/13 - 04/13
Boy, age 3; girl age 21-23 months
Regular Weekly Babysitter
Orlando, FL, 02/13 - 04/13
Boy, age 12 months-14 months
Regular Weekly Babysitter
Orlando, FL, 02/13 - 04/13
Boy, age 3; boy, age 11-13 months
Occasional Babysitter
Orlando, FL, 08/07 - 04/13
Girl, age 2-8; boy, age 21-24 months
Occasional Babysitter
Orlando, FL, 08/05 - 07/08
Girl, age 4-7; boy, age 2-5
Regular Weekly Babysitter
Orlando, FL, 05/06 - 08/08
Boy, age 10-12; boy, age 18 months-3

Professional Experience

Law Clerk/Receptionist
06/11 - 08/11, St. Petersburg, FL
Medical Records Clerk
Orlando, FL, 05/10 - 08/10
Retail Support Staff
New York, NY, 10/09 - 12/09

About Me

After graduating from The King’s College, I worked as a regular babysitter/nanny for a number of families in Orlando. I moved back to NYC in May 2012, and I hope to eventually find a job in children’s publishing. My passion is to help others discover the joy of reading. Nothing makes me more excited than reading to children and helping them to discover books they love. I once brought a book of fairytales to read to a 7-year-old girl I babysit for and she has requested it ever since. Every time she asks me if I brought “the Book”, I feel like I am accomplishing my life’s goal.

Since the age of fifteen, I have been babysitting for children on a regular basis. In high school, I babysat for four families with children between the ages of 1 and 10, and continued to babysit for some of them during my college years in the summers as well. My hobbies include writing, piano, and calligraphy. I have been a runner since high school, where I ran cross-country. I am currently working on cutting my 5K time. As an amateur musician, I would love to assist children in practicing, especially on the piano.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Looking for jobs/internships in publishing.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in children's publishing or writing children's books.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Piano, chess, writing, and creative endeavors