Emma C.

Education

School of Visual Arts, B.F.A Visual & Critical Studies

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Malibu, CA, 2005 - Present
Girl, age 2-10

Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - 09/12
Two girls, age 10

After School Babysitter
Agoura, CA, 06/08 - 08/08
Boy, age 11

Professional Experience

Vintage Buyer
Brooklyn, NY, 08/12 - Present

Background Extra
Las Angeles, CA & New York, NY, 2011 - Present

Assistant
New York, NY, 05/12 - 08/12

Radio DJ/Office Manager
New York, NY, 09/08 - 05/12

Gallery Intern
New York, NY, 02/11 - 06/11

About Me

As a recent art school graduate, I hope that in caring for children I can share my knowledge, love and appreciation for art with eyes and minds that are so fresh with creativity. While an only child, I grew up in a neighborhood that, even from the youngest age, I looked out for any younger neighbors. Along with neighbor’s children, I have also cared for younger members of my family, ranging from pre-school age to middle school age. As I get older, I have come to appreciate being around children and being a part of their creative development. I hope that I can find a family that is looking for a sitter who can enrich their children’s lives in a creative way as well as provide stability and lots of positive energy!

I am originally from Malibu, California but first came to New York when I was 15 for a summer pre-college program and found myself back here for my four years of undergrad at The School of Visual Arts studying visual & critical studies. I worked for the school throughout my studies (helping run the school’s radio station and working for student activities) and took on a few various jobs along the way such as background acting and wardrobe PA gigs. I am a hard worker, yet have never wanted to limit myself and pass up an interesting opportunity.  My department was a close-knit community and I found myself as a teacher amongst my peers, learning new skills and helping others. As for my art, I mainly work in video and performance, but love ceramics and painting, as well as exploring things like dyeing and weaving of textiles. My hobbies include crafts of all kind (I love to crochet!), cooking with family and friends, bicycling, urban gardening, visiting galleries and museums. More than anything getting out and exploring the best that this city has to offer and beyond.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working occasionally as a background extra.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in a creative job in the film industry either in the prop or costume department.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love sharing my knowledge of plant life and gardening, painting, working in clay/ceramics, crocheting and cooking!