Jennifer T.

Education

Syracuse University, Bachelor of Science, Child and Family Studies

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/08 - 05/13
Girl, age 18 months-7; boy, age birth-4

Program Assistant/Senior Camp Counselor
New York, NY, 06/02 -08/02
Children, ages 7-13

Intern at VA Kids Quarters
Syracuse, NY, 09/00 - 12/00
Children, ages 6 months-3

Student Teacher
Syracuse, NY, 01/00 - 04/00
Children, ages 3-4

Professional Experience

Development Assistant for Arts & Sciences
New York, NY, 03/11 - Present

Cardiopulmonary Receptionist - Per Diem
New York, NY, 12/10 - 03/11

Front Desk Associate
New York, NY, 06/05 - 11/10

Consultant (Temporary Contract)
New York, NY, 09/05 - 02/06

Mentoring Coordinator
New York, NY, 06/04 - 04/05

About Me

Since graduating from Syracuse University, I have worked at various organizations. My most memorable positions have been those that have had me working directly with students and families, such as my work with a college prep program, a mentoring program, and now with college students. My passion for working with children is what made me become a babysitter. I believe in actively engaging children and helping support their creativity, while maintaining a nurturing and safe environment.

I enjoy reading with children and helping them learn and grow through play and teaching. I also enjoy “wearing many hats” while working with families and I am always inspired by children, from listening to them tell me about their day at school, to going on play dates with friends, or simply staying at home and finding new ways to interact through the use of our imagination. I believe in working in tandem with parents to provide continuity and structure for children, while allowing them to feel comfortable and cared for through our daily interactions and simply having fun.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working as a Development Assistant at Columbia University.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as an Executive Assistant within Columbia and having finished a master's degree.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I truly enjoying reading, singing, and doing arts and crafts. I am also fluent in Spanish.