Jessica P.

Education

Hollins University,, Candidate for M.F.A. in Dance
University of Arizona, B.F.A., Dance

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
New York, NY, 06/11 - Present
Boys and girls, ages 2.5-12

Professional Experience

Children's Ballet, Yoga and Creative Movement Teacher
New York, NY, 2008 - Present
Director of Downtown Program
New York, NY, 01/10 - Present
Administrative Assistant
New York, NY, 2008 - Present

About Me

After graduating from the University of Arizona, I have discovered a deep joy in sharing my love of dance and movement with children. As a teaching artist I use songs, guided improvisation and educational stories that allow children to discover their own creative voices while learning about movement in an engaging and nurturing environment.

In addition to teaching, I have also worked as a babysitter since high school. Many of the children that I have sat for over the years have also been my students! I enjoy and am comfortable with children of all ages and I love to take them on creative, age appropriate adventures. Visits to museums, performances, and parks are great ways to pass a summer afternoon and I have knack for facilitating random dance parties. While I certainly enjoy having fun I’m also able to separate playtime and study or work time and am happy to assist with homework. As a dancer and a yogi, a healthy lifestyle that includes a balanced diet and lots of exercise is incredibly important to me. I enjoy making healthy meals and am a pro at creating delicious, nutritious treats.

Along with dancing and yoga, I am a runner and an avid reader. I love to spend time outdoors, attend concerts, travel, explore the farmer’s market and take in as much of the amazing culture that this fair city has to offer as I possibly can.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working as a creative movement, yoga and ballet teacher.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finishing up my graduate studies and on my way to having my own family!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Ballet, arts and crafts, reading, and cooking