Jessica S.

Education

The King's College, pursuing degree in Politics, Philosophy, and Economics

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Stanford, CA, 06/13 - 07/13
Children, ages 14-18

Babysitter
Nassau Bay, TX, 07/13 - 08/13
Boy, age 4 months; girl, age 3; boy, age 7

Part-time Babysitter
Houston, TX, 03/10 - Present
Two girls, ages 4-7 and 1-4; boy ages 6-9

Professional Experience

Retail
New York, NY, 11/12 - 05/13

Kumon Tutor
League City, TX, 05/10 - 06/12

About Me

From a young age, I have always had a passion to work with kids of all ages. While in middle school and high school, I babysat for children ages 6 months – 13 years old doing various activities from baking to putting on “plays” for the parents. I also had the benefit of working with children with special needs, such as autism and down-syndrome. I involved myself in my school district’s annual field day for children with special needs and received so much joy putting smiles on everyone’s faces. Throughout high school, I worked at the Kumon Learning Center for 2 years, tutoring children in arithmetic and reading from ages 3-18. I had the privilege of specializing in “Junior Kumon” to help with younger students ages 3-5, which then helped me when I mentored through the Peer-Assisted Leadership (PAL) Program working with 3 elementary children 3 days a week. It also gave me knowledge for personal tutoring with children entering kindergarten on reading and word recognition. This past summer, I had the opportunity to work with 200 of the brightest high school students across the world at a summer political camp at Stanford University by the Junior Statesmen Foundation.

When working with children, I am always eager to promote fun and learning through games and reading. I look at kids as a true inspiration to why I want to go into the human rights field, so that every child has the right to have fun and grow up. I play the piano, violin, and double bass and enjoy sharing the love of music to the next generation. Along with music, I am involved with debating for my school as well as volunteering at the Bowery Mission and the Women’s Environment and Development Organization (WEDO). I have a real passion for working with children and now that I’m back in New York as a junior in college, I look forward to getting more involved with babysitting in the city!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Volunteering with my school while being in charge of my group's philanthropy, taking 15 hours of class, and involving myself with the school's debate team.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working on D.C. in a Latin American embassy or with the UN specializing in Human Rights.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love to play various sports (soccer, basketball, volleyball, or just playing tag) and love to play a good game of hide and seek or just go to the park! I enjoy baking, especially around the holidays, and having the kids help me to make or decorate cookies. I always like to play the piano, violin, double bass and love to have kids play with me! I always appreciate sharing with children my love for reading through putting on "plays" or hand puppet "performances of our favorite books. I always love to do crafts (coloring, hand turkeys, "snow"men, etc.) and teaching kids about different cultures around the world.