Julia S.

Education

Eugene Lang College at the New School, pursuing B.A. in Philosophy

Childcare Experience

Au Pair
Cantabria, Spain, 06/13 - 08/13
Boy, age 9-10; girl, age 7-8

Babysitter
Bethesda, MD, 2005-2007
Two girls, ages 4-6 and 6-8

Apprentice
Washington, DC, Summers, 2005/2006/2009
Children, ages 5-12

Counselor-in-training
Bethesda, MD, Summers, 2002-2004
Children, ages 5-15

Professional Experience

Peace and Justice Center
Burlington, VT, 02/12 - 12/12

White Ribbon Alliance for Safe Motherhood
London, UK, 05/12 - 07/12

American Constitution Society
Washington, DC 01/11 - 07/11

Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence
Washington, DC 01/11 - 07/11

Mustard Seed
Bethesda, MD 07/10 - 03/11

About Me

Prior to attending school in New York, I attended the University of Vermont in Burlington. While there I worked for the non-profit the Peace & Justice Center, focusing on fair trade in the cocoa industry. At the center we did many events for children, which allowed me to work on the issues I was passionate about and include the curious minds of the young students of Burlington.

When I was in grade school, I did babysitting jobs for several families in my area, which I greatly enjoyed. I was also a counselor-in-training, both at the YMCA aquatics camp, and as well as at the Levine School of Music summer camp. This past summer, I was lucky to be able to travel to northern Spain to live with a family as an au pair for their two young children. It was an experience that taught me so much, not just about working with kids and their families, but also the many cultural lessons that went with living in a new country, and improving my Spanish abilities.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending university.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Living abroad, running my own non-profit organization or business!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak an intermediate level of Spanish, and have always excelled in reading and writing, so would be very adept at helping with homework in these areas. When I was younger, I studied classical piano for 10 years, and have also dabbled with the guitar since I was in high school. I of course read music and would be thrilled to assist any kids in their musical interests. I played soccer, basketball and softball growing up and am still physically active. I love playing sports and outdoor activities with kids. I cook for myself, and would be able to cook meals for the kids, as well as help them experiment in the kitchen.