Justine P.

Education

University of Texas at Austin, B.A. History, with Honors

Columbia University, M.A. in International and World History

London School of Economics, MSc in International and World History

Childcare Experience

Preschool Instructor
Carrollton, Texas, 05/07 - 08/07, 05/11 - 08/11
Children, ages 4-5

C2 Education / Big Apple Education Tutor / Teacher
Manhattan, NY, 04/12 - Present
Children, ages 13-18

Global Harvest Church Childcare Provider / TeacherCarrollton, TX, Fall 2006 - Present
Children, ages 5-12

Professional Experience

Redeemer Church Homeschool Co-op
Manhattan, NY, 09/13 - Present

Private Tutor
Carrollton, TX, 08/13

About Me

Growing up in an Asian-American family, children and childcare was (and is) considered a crucial part of nurturing the community and addressing its needs in the next little generation. I truly believe my own babysitters, teachers, and family friends played a significant role in how I see loving on others, exerting patience, and knowing the long-term effects of even our smallest actions. My background in education (ranging from pre-k to high school through graduate education) has fostered a nearly endless curiosity for new and amazing things worth learning, and I believe New York has some of the best resources for both interactive and life-inspiring knowledge.

When working with children, I am eager to integrate their daily activities with opportunities to learn about their world, its history and especially themselves. I am a firm believer that children are all built differently, and it is a matter of understanding their learning styles and tailoring opportunities that will help them explore and grow best. Teaching at a bilingual summer preschool program in Texas taught me to respect each child by addressing them eye-to-eye according to these styles. Other than a deep love for local, New York-sized adventures, I am an avid baker who loves making kid-friendly messes in the kitchen, a foodie out exploring the cuisines of other countries, or listening to a lecture on urban issues.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Applying for and preparing for entering a PhD program in History or Anthropology.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Finishing a PhD project, and possibly even a mother myself!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Spanish, Korean, cooking and baking and experimenting with messes in the kitchen, exploring museums and arts and crafts activities, enjoy walking in the park, exploring new and interesting neighborhoods with unique foods, and photography.