Kate S.

Education

Columbia University (currently attending), Candidate for M.F.A. in Writing
California Polytechnic State University, B.A., English

Childcare Experience

Afternoon Nanny
San Luis Obispo, CA, 03/11 - 07/12
Girl, age 1-2
Evening Babysitter
San Luis Obispo, CA, 01/12 - 08/12
Girl, age 6-7
Respite Worker
San Diego, CA, 03/07 - 08/10
Boys and girls, ages 6-13
Evening Babysitter
San Diego, CA, 05/06 - 03/07
Boy, age 10-11; girl, age 8-9

Professional Experience

Program Intern
New York, NY, 10/12 - Present
Teaching Assistant
San Luis Obispo, CA, 09/11 - 08/12
Marketing and Outreach Coordinator
San Luis Obispo, CA, 08/09 - 05/11

About Me

After graduating, I moved to New York City to begin a Master’s program at Columbia University. My goal is to utilize my interest in poetry and my passion for art to create and publish children’s literature. Three days a week, I work as a Program Intern at the Academy of American Poets, a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting poets and poetry nationwide.

For the past ten years I have worked as a babysitter for children of various ages and abilities. Throughout high school I worked at TERI, Incorporated, a nonprofit organization that serves children and teenagers with special needs and their families. As a Respite Worker, I cared for children in their homes and found effective and unique ways to entertain and connect, depending on their individual personalities and goals. Further, because I am fluent in American Sign Language, I was able to try alternative ways to communicate with children who may have not been able to communicate through speech.

Along with creative writing, I enjoy painting, playing chess, reading, traveling, playing tennis, softball, and basketball, and exploring new areas in New York City. One of my favorite parts about playing and interacting with children is having an opportunity to share my own interests while simultaneously learning about what they love to do and what they are passionate about.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on my M.F.A. in Creative Writing through Columbia University.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Writing and illustrating children's books.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Creative writing, arts and crafts, reading, playing chess, tennis, softball, and various other sports. I am fluent in American Sign Language, and have completed four years of college-level Spanish.