Katelyn M.

Education

NYU, B.F.A., Drama and Journalism

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/09 - Present
Two girls, ages 7-11 and 2-6
After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/11 - Present
Twins: Girl, age 9-11; boy, age 9-11
After-School Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/12 - Present
Girl, age 7-8; boy, age 12-13
On-call Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - Present
Girl, age 6 months-1 year
Morning Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - Present
Girl, age 1-2
Morning Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - Present
Two boys, ages 5 months-1 year and 1-2 years

Professional Experience

Assistant House Manager
01/07 - Present, New York, NY
Server
New York, NY, 05/09 - 08/09
Server
New York, NY, 05/08 - 08/08

About Me

Though I was raised in the woods and mountains of New Hampshire, I have found myself to be a city girl at heart. Aside from the host of wonderful families I have worked for here in NYC, I have taken on great responsibility with my own. My younger sister, Emily was diagnosed with autism at the age of four, and I grew up looking after her, helping out my parents, taking her out with her friends, and being a model big sister. I am therefore very patient, understanding, and calm when helping to organize her life and I feel that I have parlayed my experience into successful babysitting.

In my free time, I tend to wear many different hats. I run a successful Off-Off Broadway theater company with a group of my cohorts from NYU (pipelinetheatre.org), producing plays, workshops and readings all over the place. I have served as Marketing Director since the company’s foundation in 2009, and have acted in a few productions myself. I am also a freelance theater critic. I am a crossword puzzle-addict, an amateur baker (whoopie pies are my specialty), a singer, and a former athlete. I also love practicing yoga, riding my bike, reading, traveling, and exploring New York City.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for theater opportunities, working as a marketing director of a theater company, and working as a freelance theater critic.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Off on some grand adventure. That could be here in NYC, beginning a family of my own, or off somewhere in the wide world, seeing what there is to see. Either way, I see myself ever excited and ever discovering.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Acting, singing, yoga, reading music, basic German and Spanish, horseback riding, arts and crafts