Katherine H.

Education

Catawba College, B.F.A Performance

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 02/13 - 08/13
Girl, age 3-4

Instructor Playmakers Theater Camp
Baton Rouge, LA, Summers 2009 - 2011
Children, ages 5-12

Babysitter
Mandeville, LA, 06/05 - 06/07
Two boys, age 5-9, 4-8

Professional Experience

Barista
New York, NY, 05/12 - 01/13

Fundraiser
New York, NY, 10/11 - 12/11

Personal Assistant
New York, NY 10/11 - 2/12

Waitress
New York, NY, 12/11 - 05/12

Personal Assistant
New Orleans, LA, 05/09 - 08/09

About Me

Upon entering the working world, I found that I enjoy looking for jobs that I not only love, but ones where I can create lasting experiences for young people. During college, I worked as a teacher and choreographer at a children’s theater camp called Playmakers. Through this experience I found my love for teaching and working with kids. I believe that helping kids learn through music, theater, or other activities engages them in such a way that facilitates better learning because the kids are more likely to take away the lessons in a positive way.

Along with my experience as a theater educator, I have over seven years of babysitting experience with various families. I have also worked as a personal assistant, and as an English and French tutor to college level students. I cook, bake, and sew very well, and I also know a plethora of fun craft activities.

I like to create a safe, structured environment for the children that I care for. I find their enthusiasm and imaginations inspiring, and I feel that a place of trust and understanding is the best environment for children’s minds to flourish. I love music. I sing, and play the piano, guitar, and ukulele. I also enjoy sketching, writing, and reading. I am constantly looking for opportunities to learn new things.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

I will be SmartSitting while I will be auditioning for roles in theater film and television.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

I hope to have a masters degree in performance working on starting my own theater company.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love music, theater, and cooking. I like to knit, sew, and sketch. I enjoy crafts, yoga, and swimming. I also speak French with proficiency.