Katherine T.

Education

Oberlin College, B.A. French Literature

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 6/13 - Present
Girl, 10 months - 1 year

Babysitter
Rennes, France, 10/12 - 04/13
Boy age 2; girl, age 5

Teacher
Rennes, France, 09/12 - 04/13
Children, ages 9 - 11

Camp Counselor
New York, NY, 06/08 - 08/08
Children, ages 7-8

After-School Counselor
New York, NY, 04/08 - 06/08
Children, age 3-4

Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/04 - 04/08
Boy, age 4; girl, age 7

Professional Experience

Hostess
New York, NY, 07/13 - 08/13

Sales
New York, NY, 05/13 - 06/13

Teaching Assistant
Rennes, France, 10/12 - 04/13

Lead Resident Assistant
Oberlin, OH, 08/09 - 05/12

Tour Guide / Admissions Intern
Oberlin, OH, 09/10 - 05/12

About Me

I have been babysitting for over eight years now and I have worked with children ranging between 10 months and 14 years old. Babysitting has always been something that I have enjoyed: I love the opportunity to inspire children to try new things and explore possibilities while also learning from their creativity and enthusiasm. My babysitting experience has taken me from New York City to small-town Ohio and overseas to France.

This past year, I lived in France while working as an English teaching assistant in a local high school. I also led English story-time hours at the local French American Institute and taught English at a children’s immersion program. I had plenty of opportunities to babysit through colleagues at work. It was fascinating babysitting children in another language who belonged to a different culture. I got the chance to learn about the world through their eyes while teaching them about English language and American culture. In my spare time, I picnic and run in Central Park, lead volunteer projects with organizations like New York Common Pantry, and cook or bake as much as possible.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Leading local volunteer projects and searching for a weekday office position.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in a nonprofit to help disadvantaged children.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak fluent French, and I love to cook and bake, do any arts and crafts project, and play board games.