Kathleen J.

Education

Jacksonville University, B.A. in Theatre Arts

Childcare Experience

Program Director, My Gym Harlem
New York, NY, 04/13 - 06/14
Children, ages 6 weeks-13 years

Program Director, My Gym Lincoln Center
New York, NY, 10/08 - 07/13
Children, ages 6 weeks-13 years

Lead Teacher, My Gym Encinco
Encino, CA, 03/08 - 9/08
Children, ages 1-9

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 2009 - Present
Boy age 1-5, Girl age 0-4, Girl infant

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 2010 - Present
Two Girls age 4-8, 1-5

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 2009 - 2011
Boy, age 1.5-3.5 ,

Professional Experience

My work experience has been childcare-related.

About Me

I hold a Bachelor’s degree in theatre and while I no longer perform professionally, these skills certainly come in handy on a daily basis when engaging and entertaining the children with whom I work. I have over six years professional experience working with children between the ages of six weeks and thirteen years in a number of different settings.

I am a compassionate yet consistent rule-enforcer and an imaginative and energetic playmate. I have tremendous patience and enthusiasm and an excellent understanding of child development and psychology. I believe in positive reinforcement and take advantage of learning opportunities in all situations. I am an active and healthy individual, and work to encourage children to embrace a positive attitude towards healthy living. I am also a trained children’s yoga instructor. I love sharing my passions with children. In addition to yoga, I also love teaching children how to explore and learn through creating artwork and dramatic play. I often write original songs, stories and poems to use as teaching devices, and recently recorded a sun-salutation song I wrote for my 3-5 year old yoga students.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on a documentary and volunteering with Big Brothers Big Sisters NY. I am also investigating different opportunities for continued education.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working with children in either a pre-school setting or as a drama/play therapist.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Yoga, Art, Dance, Theatre, Beginning Tumbling and Gymnastics, Music, Singing, Creative Writing and Storytelling.