Kathryn R.

Education

Teachers College Columbia University, Pursuing Master of Arts in Teaching

University of North Carolina Wilmington, Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education

Childcare Experience

Art/Reading Camp Teacher
Chapel Hill, NC, 06/13 - 07/13
2 Girls, age 6; 1 boy, age 6, 1 girl, age 7; 2 boys, age 7; 1 girl, age 8; 1 boy age 8

Babysitter
Chapel Hill, NC, 09/11 - 08/13
girl, age 7-9; girl, age 9-11

Babysitter
Chapel Hill, NC, 09/12 - 08/13
boy, age 9-11; girl, age 3-5

Babysitter
Chapel Hill, NC, 11/12 - 08/13
girl, age 2-3; girl age 4-5; girl age 7-8

Babysitter
Chapel Hill, NC, 09/12 - 08/13
Boy, age 3-4; girl age 2 months - 11 months

Professional Experience

Literacy Tutor
Chapel Hill, NC, 06/13 - 08/13

Elementary Teacher
Chapel Hill, NC, 08/10 - 06/13

Waitress
Chapel Hill, NC, 05/10 - 09/10

Waitress
Wilmington, NC, 10/07 - 05/10

About Me

I have just finished teaching my third year at an elementary school in North Carolina and I am beginning graduate school at Columbia in the fall. I’ve always had a passion for working with children and knew that my career must align with that passion. I try to find work with children in so many ways, by being a teacher, tutor, babysitter, summer camp leader, reading coordinator, drama club teacher-volunteer, and so much more. I like to stay busy, and children keep me very busy!

I’ve been babysitting for over 10 years with a variety of children and families. I love to discover a child’s passion and help them pursue it. I like to spend time with children doing the things they like to do, as well as introducing them to new experiences. A true joy of mine is assisting kids with the things they struggle with by working with the things with which they excel. After learning a lot about 8-year-old Elijah, I was able to teach him that he can have fun planning, writing, and “publishing” a non-fiction book all about his favorite thing: the Philadelphia Eagles! I learn new things about children each day I spend with them.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Obtaining on my master's degree at Teacher's College Columbia University. I'm working to get my Master of Arts in Teaching within the Literacy Specialist Program.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A literacy specialist working with high-need students.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, baking, arts and crafts of all types (paint, water colors, drawing, paper crafts, crayons, markers, oil pastels, etc.), sports, and of course reading and writing!