Katie H.

Education

University of Minnesota, B.A. Theatre

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/13 - 06/13
Two boys, ages 11 and 9

Nanny
New York, NY, 03/12 - 05/13
Boy, age 13 months - 27 months

Occasional Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 05/11 - 06/13
Girl, age 14 months - 3; boy, newborn - 20 months

After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/10 - 12/11
Two boys, ages 8-9 and 5-6

After-school Babysitter
Minneapolis, MN, 01/06 - 01/10
Boy, age 17 months - 6 years

Special Needs Caretaker
St. Louis Park, MN, 06/11/07 - 04/09
Two girls, ages 20 months - 3 years and 4 months - 2 years

Professional Experience

Producing and Performing Touring Theatre
Various U.S. cities, 07/13 - 11/13

Server
New York, NY, 02/12 - 01/13

Actor & Singer
Various U.S. cities, 05/08 - 11/09

About Me

Since graduating from college, I have been developing my career as a singer, songwriter, and theater-maker who specializes in ensemble-devised physical and musical theater. My work as a teaching artist has been focused on promoting social development in young learners through improvisation, music, and movement. In addition to teaching, I have also worked as a nanny for over eleven years with newborns, toddlers, tweens, teens and special needs children. I believe that by creating a “Yes and…” environment, children of all ages can be empowered to nurture creativity, collaboration, confidence, and self-reliance. I am a self-assured leader who is devoted to modeling positive behavior through consistency and encouragement. I am passionate about food and enjoy making healthy and flavorful meals by utilizing whole grains and fresh fruits and vegetables.

When working with children, I believe there is an elegance in simplicity. I am devoted to engaging, high energy fun, while promoting structure and safety. I believe in learning through imaginative play, embracing the joy of the process, and the power of thoughtful experimentation. I am an avid player of guitar and ukulele and a enthusiastic singer of silly songs. I relish time running in Prospect Park, yoga, and cycling through Brooklyn. I am a life-long lover of books, history, art, and public radio.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Recording an album and continuing to promote my theatre company's two most recent shows. I will be translating my one-woman folk-opera into French and occasionally auditioning for enticing roles.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Performing and teaching theatre on a full-time basis.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, baking, crafting, reading, playing/writing music, playing football/frisbee/ping-pong, swimming, cycling, rollerskating, dancing, speaking conversational French.