Katie R.

Education

SUNY Binghamton, B.A., Arabic and French

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 03/13 - Present
Twin girls, age 3 months on
After-school Babysitter
Amherst, NY, 12/12 - 1/13
Boy with special needs, age 22-23
Weekend Babysitter
Clarence, NY, 05/03 - 05/08
Girl, age 8-13; boy, age 4-9

Professional Experience

Arabic Curriculum Writer
New York, NY; Israel, 06/12 - 11/12
Head Resident Counselor
Hod HaSaron, Israel, 06/12 - 11/12
English Teacher and Volunteer
Petah Tikva, Israel, 08/11 - 06/12
Head Camp Counselor
Lockport, NY, Summer 2008

About Me

I have recently returned from a year abroad in Israel where I worked as an elementary school English teacher. I absolutely adore working with kids, love languages and am an advocate of learning as well as bilingual education. I have worked with children of all ages and abilities but find that I do extremely well with younger ones.

While following my passions for language and education in college, I studied languages while working with children in elementary afterschool programs and high school mentoring programs. During my summers I always worked at children’s summer camps, both day and overnight. I have worked as a babysitter for the past 11 years. I am familiar with children’s needs and desires from different backgrounds and cultures, including non-native English speakers.

I love to talk and I speak 5 languages! I am an advocate for healthy lifestyles and am an avid soccer player. I absolutely love to cook and encourage education in the kitchen! I believe that children need positive, happy, energetic and fun role models in their lives. Both my classroom and life experiences have taught me to enhance my skills in order to be a positive role model for children.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Applying to graduate school for education.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In NYC, married, working either full or part-time.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Languages: Fluent in French; Proficient in Arabic (Egyptian dialect and Palestinian dialect), Hebrew, Spanish