Kristin O.

Education

University of Tampa, B.F.A. Painting

New York Academy of Art, Pursuing M.F.A. Painting

Childcare Experience

Nanny/Babysitter
Tampa, FL, 01/10 - 05/13
Two girls, ages 1-3 and birth - 14 months

Nanny/Babysitter
Tampa, FL, 08/11 - 05/12
Two boys, ages 13 and 14; girl, age 9

Babysitter
Tampa, FL, 09/10 - 05/13
Two boys, ages 7-10 and 2-5; girl, age 5-8

Professional Experience

Competitive Gymnastics Coach
Ocala, FL, 05/12 - 08/12

Competitive Gymnastics Coach
Ocala, FL, 05/11 - 08/11

Competitive Gymnastics Coach
Ocala, FL, 05/08 - 05/09

About Me

Since I began babysitting a little over ten years ago, I’ve had a wide range of experiences with many wonderful families! From helping new walkers, to taking middle schoolers to football practice, I’m prepared for nearly anything; I once had to perform a fish funeral, and have babysat kids whose favorite snack was frozen peas!

My background as a gymnast and coach taught me to facilitate active and safe play, as well as helped hone my skills of catching falling children! My education in fine arts and painting help me improvise when necessary, and lends itself well to any craft project.

I’m very passionate about learning in all capacities, and am committed to sharing that with children I work with. When I’m not painting in the studio, I love to read, talk with my two younger sisters, watch documentaries, as well as visit galleries, museums, aquariums, and zoos in my spare time. I always encourage curiosity and adventure, which has brought me from a small town in central Florida to New York to pursue my Masters degree in painting–a dream come true in every sense!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Completing a Masters degree at the New York Academy of Art and building my career as a professional painter.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working at a museum in the education department (hopefully with children), with my work represented by a NY gallery.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Painting, drawing, doing gymnastics, dancing, learning Spanish and Sign Language, reading, and making breakfast for dinner!