Kurt S.

Education

University of Iowa, M.F.A.

University of Montana, B.F.A.

Childcare Experience

After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present
Three boys, age 4-5; age 7-8; age 7-8

Full-time Summer Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - 09/12
Three boys, age 8; age 11; age 15

Temporary Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/12 - 10/12
Boy, age 13

Gifted and Talented Teacher
Iowa City, IA, Summers 06/11 - 08/12
Children, ages 11 - 16

Camp Director and Counselor
Subiacco, AR, 06/98 - 07/06
Children, age 8 - 16

Professional Experience

College Instructor
Iowa City, IA, 08/09 - 06/12

Team Leader at Iowa City Community School District
Iowa City, IA, 06/11 - 08/12

Audio/Visual Technician
Fort Smith, AR, 08/03 - 06/06

Residential Assistant
Fort Smith, AR, 07/04 - 06/07

Swim Instructor
Arkansas, Montana, and Iowa, 06/97 - Present

About Me

I live in Queens with my wife and our puppy, Stella. I am a curious person. Since graduating with a master’s degree in fine arts, I’ve filled my curiosity in other ways. I’m now a certified rock climber, a certified SCUBA diver, I made my first circuit board taken an online physics class and I am learning to play the ukulele. Being a firm believer in self-development, I try to pass that along to youngsters in a balance between science and the arts.

I’ve taught at a collegiate level for three years, but most recently, I taught at a gifted and talented school for middle to high school aged kids where we turned poems into actable scenes. My joy comes when I can find lessons in everyday actions. I love turning mundane activities into songs or making commercials selling imaginary products. I have worked at, and been co-director of, a summer camp for nearly a decade. One of my favorite jobs though, was traveling around the country casting 60 kids each week, rehearsing and performing a full-length musical within one week. My wife and I cook almost every day and lean heavily towards healthy eating (except when our southern roots force us to make something that takes us back to our barefoot childhood in Arkansas).

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Auditioning for film and TV. Also, I'll be trying to meet my physicist hero: Neil deGrasse Tyson.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Acting opposite Bryan Cranston on a TV series.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I enjoy teaching anything in the sciences or the arts. I am proficient in the kitchen and love new recipes. Excellent swimmer with three Arkansas state records. I love to share my love of anything outdoors: hiking, camping, bird watching, cathing crabs on the beach, rock climbing, playing soccer, baseball, etc. Doing science experiments is a must. I also love to make up songs.