Laura P.

Education

Teachers College, Columbia University , pursuing degree in Bilingual/Bicultural Education

Rider University, B.A. Elementary Education; Integrated Science & Math; Middle School Mathematics

Childcare Experience

After-School Supervisor
Princeton, NJ, 01/13 - 06/13
Boys, ages 5-10

After-School Assistant
Princeton, NJ, 09/11 - 06/12
Children, ages 5-10

Preschool Teacher Assistant
Monmouth Junction, NJ, 09/06 - 01/07
Children, ages 3-4

Professional Experience

Work-Study, Bilingual/Bicultural Education Office
New York, NY, 10/13 - Present

After-School Tutor
New York, NY, 09/13 - 05/14

Rider University Office of Orientation
Lawrenceville, NJ, 03/11 - 02/12

Rasoi III Banquet Hall Server
Monmouth Junction, NJ, 2007 - 2014

About Me

Since graduating from college, I have been actively pursuing my graduate degree and becoming involved in many opportunities with children, adding to my volunteer and professional experiences. I have volunteered in several organizations, which has expanded my ideas about the importance of literacy and one-on-one relationships with children. I also value the significance of utilizing what children already know and are interested in to build interest in content, such as by using book, educational games and iPad games.

When working with children, they are my priority and focus and I am extremely aware of their safety as the utmost concern. I enjoy building a connection with children so they can trust that I have their best interest at heart. I am extremely passionate about working with children and my active involvement in both volunteer and work experiences are a testament to that dedication. During my free time and also linked to my activities with children, I enjoy drawing, painting or doing anything that is crafty and artsy, spending time with family, and I enjoy exploring new activities, such as going to see Broadway plays, comedy shows, educational conferences. Overall, I believe that children are the most important investment to our future and society and this belief is what drives my passion in education and engaging in a career that involves childcare!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing my Master's degree in bilingual/bicultural education (Spanish/English).

In 5 years, I hope to be…

A full-time dual language teacher.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak fluent Spanish, love doing arts and crafts, playing educational iPad games, and being active (playing basketball, field hockey, soccer and watching baseball)!