Maeve G.

Education

Columbia University, pursuing Master of Arts/Journalism

Hamilton College, Bachelor of Arts/Art History and Comparative Literature

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Clinton, NY, 09/10 - 06/12
Girl, infant

Part-time Nanny
Paris, France, 02/11 - 05/11
Two girls, ages 3 and 5

Babysitter
Clinton, NY, 09/10 - 12/10
Twin boy and girl, age 11

Babysitter
Baltimore, MD, 09/05 - 06/11
Two boys, ages 3 and 5; girl, age 1

Professional Experience

Grant Writer
New York, NY 08/13 - Present

Hostess
New York, NY 04/13 - Present

Copy Editor and Reporter
New York, NY, 04/13 - Present

Writing Tutor, Hamilton College
Clinton, NY, 08/09 - -05/12

About Me

I am a writer and art-lover returning to school to study Journalism. For the past year, I have worked for Learning through an Expanded Arts Program, which brings teaching artists into NYC public schools to teach academics through the arts. I believe hands-on activities are a natural and essential part of any childcare experience. I have a light and upbeat demeanor, but put safety and structure above all else. I have worked as a babysitter and part-time nanny for over ten years for families with children of many ages and needs, and I am excited to get back into childcare in New York.

I am currently pursuing my Master’s in Journalism from Columbia University, copy-edit for a downtown community newspaper, and hostess at a famous brunch restaurant on the Lower East Side. I am a dynamic and versatile cook, an energetic playmate, skilled in a variety of read-aloud voices, and can tutor through the hardest writing assignment! I am a quick learner, and cannot wait to bring my expertise and enthusiasm to the families I work with.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending Columbia University's School of Journalism

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working for the New Yorker magazine!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I speak conversationally fluent French, love museums and anything arts-related. I am a creative and enthusiastic cook, and love running and sailing.