Mikael R.

Education

City College, pursuing M.A. in Psychology

McGill University, B.A. Art History

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
New York, NY, 08/13 - 06/14
Boy, age 14

Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/13 - 02/14
Boy, age 6

Early Head Start Teacher
New York, NY, 09/12 - 07/13
Children, ages 2-3

Camp Counselor
Long Island, NY, 06/06 - 08/06
Children, age 5

Professional Experience

Adjunct Lecturer
New York, NY, Summer 2013

NYC Public School Volunteer
New York, NY 09/12 - 06/13

Test Prep Teacher
New York, NY, July 2011 - Present

Gallery Assistant
Tel Aviv, Israel, 2010 -  2011

Cook
Montreal, Canada, 2010

About Me

I have recently completed my Master’s degree in psychology at City College and I hope to eventually complete a PhD; I love working with people more than anything else, especially when I can help in some way. I especially enjoy working with kids because they can be so much fun and super (duper) creative. I have had some amazing sitters in the past that me and my family still keep in touch with and I would love to develop the same kind of relationship with a family.

A native New Yorker, I left the big city to go to a lovely smaller (colder!) city — Montreal, where I studied Art History at McGill University. After I graduated I spent six months living, traveling and working in Israel before I decided to return to New York to pursue graduate studies in psychology. I have taught and/or tutored students in elementary school, middle school, high school, and college; I am currently working as a test prep teacher and tutor with Kaplan and I have worked as an adjunct lecturer at City College. On an even sweeter note, my semi-professional hobby has been cooking and although I decided not to continue working in restaurant kitchens, the awesome experiences I had seriously aggravated my culinary itch. I am also a pretty avid cyclist and reasonably skilled bike mechanic, I learned by building my own bikes; I am constantly trying learn how to do something instead of having someone else do it for me. I have also worked as a photoshop retoucher in NYC and a gallery assistant at a nice contemporary art space in Tel Aviv.

I recently finished babysitting/tutoring an awesome fourteen year-old who was just too cool for school. His mom decided that he was getting a little old for a babysitter, but I am still in touch with the family. Last year I spent weekends babysitting a super energetic six year-old, who was a bundle of creativity and imagination. I also volunteered two years ago in a special education public school classroom (one a week for a year) where I tutored, hung out with and had fun with the students

I have professional childcare experience with…

Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

In graduate school.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Completing a PhD program.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Hebrew, Spanish, Cooking, Fencing, Karate, Swimming, Yoga.