Morgan H.

Education

City College of New York, M.A. Spanish

Saint Louis University, M.A. Spanish

University of New Mexico, B.A. Bilingual Secondary Education

Childcare Experience

Weekly Babysitter
Albuquerque, NM, 05/08 - 08/13
Girl, age 5-10; boy, newborn-age 4

Occasional Babysitter
Albuquerque, NM, 05/00 - 05/04
Two boys, age 4-8, age 7-11

Weekly Babysitter
Albuquerque, NM, 05/00 - 08/04
Three girls, age 6 months - 3, age 2-6, age 4-8; boy, age 7-11

YMCA Camp Counselor
Jemez, NM, 06/05 - 08/05
8 girls, age 7-10

Professional Experience

Teaching Assistant for Spanish 110
Saint Louis University, 08/13 - 12/13

High School Spanish Educator
Albuquerque, NM, 08/10 - 05/13

Home Health Aide
Albuquerque, NM, 08/09 - 05/11

Spanish HS Tutor
Albuquerque, NM, 05/08 - 08/13

About Me

As I continue to pursue my Master of Arts degree in Spanish at CCNY, I continue my love for working with kids of all ages, especially when it comes to promoting language learning. Growing up in New Mexico has instilled in me a deep respect for a variety of unique cultures. I have also traveled, studied, and volunteered, throughout Latin America. One of my favorite summers was in 2010, when I volunteered as a youth leader in a rural community in Azuero, Panamá.

I enjoy sharing these experiences (like my story of hiking Machu Picchu) with my students to promote social, cultural and environmental awareness our beautiful diverse world. For the past thirteen years I’ve worked as a babysitter, counselor, tutor, caregiver, and volunteer. My passions include working with kids, food, music, and Spanish. I love to cook green chile rellenos and play my banjo.

Working with children, I am quick to create a safe, positive, and energetic environment, in which the children are encouraged to express their creativity. The aim is to promote memorable learning experiences. I also enjoy reading; my favorite author is Paulo Coelho. I love going to plays/lectures, and I love dancing – especially salsa, West African, and two-step. I am always eager to engage and I work very hard to structure and lively up a safe, careful, and nurturing setting.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Completing my Master of Arts in Spanish Literature and Linguistics.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Opening a new nonprofit or public Charter school that incorporates a bilingual and environmental based curriculum.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love to play ultimate frisbee, play banjo, sew, cook, play basketball, soccer, read, create arts and crafts, bake cookies, dance and sing.