Naakai A.

Education

Wesleyan University, B.A., Iberian Studies

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
New York, NY, 02/12 - 08/12
Girl, age 3
After-school Babysitter
New York, NY, 01/12 - 04/12
Two girls, ages 12 and 16
Resident Counselor
Middletown, CT, 07/11 - 08/11
Girls, ages 12-16
Resident Assistant
Stanford, CA, 06/09 - 08/09
Girls, ages 11-12
After-school Babysitter
Zaragoza, Spain, 10/05 - 04/06
Boy, age 6; girl, age 11

Professional Experience

Assistant English & Art Teacher
Sanxenxo, Spain, 10/12 - 05/13
English Tutor
Pontevedra, Spain, 09/12 - 05/13
Restaurant Associate
New York, NY, 07/12-09/12
Server
Middletown, CT, 01/10-12/11
Creative development intern
Burbank, CA, 06/10-09/10

About Me

I recently graduated from college and have moved to New York to pursue performing arts and my passion for working with children. I hope to one day combine both interests with a career in youth arts education. In college I spent much of my free time working at an after-school arts program with kids of all ages, and it’s very important to me to continue to seek opportunities to help children realize their full potential through teaching, creativity and encouragement.

I lived with my parents and three siblings in southern California until the age of fourteen, when I became a boarding student at Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire. I spent my junior year of high school in Zaragoza, Spain, where I was a nanny and tutor for two wonderfully bright children. It was there that I became fluent in Spanish and developed a passion for modern languages, childcare, and theater.

Working at the arts center, Green Street, was the absolute best part of being at Wesleyan as many of the kids in the program had little to no access to the arts or tutoring services in their schools or communities. Seeing them find their power and discover their own potential was incredible, and being an integral part of that process made me certain that I needed to continue to work with kids once I graduated. I love to dance, sing, play tennis, swim, run, cook, draw, write, and laugh. I truly look forward to working with a great family!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing performing arts.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Attending an international graduate school for fashion design or dance choreography.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I have about 17 years of dance experience (ballet, jazz, tap, musical theater, contemporary, modern). I also draw, teach and play the piano, and sing. I speak Spanish and Portuguese.