Nina S.

Education

New York University, Candidate for B.A., Public Health

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Bryn Mawr, PA, 06/09 – 06/11
Boy, age 1-3; boy, age 3- 5; girl, age 5-7
Special Needs 1-on-1 Camp Counselor
Lakewood, PA, August 2012.
Boy with autism, age 7
Camp Counselor
Pocono Mountains (Pennsylvania), 06/11-08/11, 06/12-08/12, 06/13-08/13
Girls, age 14; Girls, age 15; Girls, age 16
Day Care Worker
Narberth, PA, 03/11 - 06/11
Girls and boys, infants

Professional Experience

Tot Shabbat Group Leader
Philadelphia, PA, 01/10 - 06/10
Program Leader, Tutor
Philadelphia, PA, 09/07 - 06/09

About Me

As a student, I have a pretty open schedule, which allows me to do what I have enjoyed so much for years: work with children. Growing up as one of five children I began gaining experience with childcare at a young age. My parents would always joke that I thought I was the mother of my three little sisters based on the way I took care of them and watched out for them. Being away from them, and the three little children I helped to raise back in Philadelphia – Ethan, Gabe and Sophie – these past couple of years has been difficult, but I look forward to finding new little sisters and brothers here in the city.

I chose to study Public Health because of my great passion for giving back to the community. I was raised with a great set of values that led me to believe that every person could use a helping hand, and I know I am capable of lending it to them. I have worked with many large-scale non-profit organizations over the years including Invisible Children and Falling Whistles, who work to provide for children in Northern Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. But I also think it is just as important to give back to our own local underprivileged communities. This is why throughout my high school career I spent countless hours tutoring at inner city schools and working at daycare centers. I also love playing soccer and doing arts and crafts. I have become accustomed to watching Mickey Mouse Clubhouse on a regular basis and know pretty much every song in every Disney movie ever made!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Studying public health, poverty studies, and psychology at NYU.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Either volunteering abroad or working full time for a grassroots type non-profit organization.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am fluent in Hebrew and I played varsity soccer in high school, but my real strength is in the crafts. In high school I designed and made the bulk of the costumes for my school's productions (I was even nominated from a state-wide award for my designs). I love coloring and drawing in all forms, my favorite art medium is definitely puffy paint!