Susannah D.

Education

Barnard College, B.A. in English and Art History/Visual Arts

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Oslo, Norway, 04/13 - 07/13
Boy, age 1

Babysitter
Berlin, Germany, 10/12 - 04/13
Boy, age 2

Camp Counselor / Writing Instructor
Hamilton, NY, 8/09, 8/10
Children, age 12-14

Babysitter
Hamilton, NY, 02/08 - 8/09
Girl, age 2

Nursery Attendant
Hamilton, NY, 09/04 - 8/08
Children, ages 0-4

Babysitter
Hamilton, NY, 09/04 - 08/08
Boy, age 2; girl, age 4

Professional Experience

Archivist
New York, NY, 06/12 - 10/12

Personal Assistant
New York, NY, 09/11 - 05/12

Division Administrative Assistant
Hamilton, NY, 07/09 - 01/10

Party Helper
New York, NY, 10/08 - 05/12

Visual Resources Library Assistant
Hamilton, NY, 06/08 - 09/08

About Me

I enjoy engaging with children in ways that let their creativity shine through. As a Visual Thinking Strategies museum docent, and as a counselor and writing instructor for middle school students at Colgate’s Young Writer’s Workshop, I have seen how perceptive, wise, and funny kids can be when given the opportunity to express themselves freely. These experiences have certainly translated into my babysitting philosophy: while safety and structure are my top priorities, I love to organize creative activities, lead outings into the city, and share books with the kids I babysit. Most of all, I love to talk and listen with my kids, who teach me to see the world from a new perspective.

My interests include printmaking, bookbinding, knitting, and traveling, (I have lived in London, France, Germany, and Norway!), and I am an avid reader and writer. I grew up in a family where cooking and eating were central daily rituals, and I enjoy grocery shopping and cooking healthy meals. Originally from a small town in Upstate New York, in the five years I’ve been living here, I’ve loved exploring the all the museums, cultural resources, and delicious food that New York City has to offer.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Tutoring kids for the SAT.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

In a career I'm passionate about, involving an intersection of education and the arts.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

French, German, Latin, cooking and baking, creative projects (especially printmaking and bookbinding).