Valerie G.

Education

NYU, Steinhardt, Pursuing MS Occupational Therapy

CUNY, Baruch College, BBA, Marketing

Childcare Experience

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 10/12 - Present
Girl, age 9

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 07/12 - Present
Girl, age 8

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 01/12 - Present
Boy, age 8

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 10/11 - Present
Boy, age 13

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 09/11 - 11/11
Girl, age 13

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 10/07 - Present
Two girls, ages 7 and 14

Professional Experience

Teaching Assistant / Grader, NYU
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present

Office Assistant, SPOTS
New York, NY, 09/12 - 09/13

Tutor
Brooklyn, NY, 03/12 - 06/12

About Me

While I’ve been tutoring and teaching children for over eight years, it was only several years ago that I realized how fulfilled I feel when helping them. Because of this, I left advertising and began working towards a career in pediatric Occupational Therapy. I seek to make my career working with and helping children adjust to challenges associated with certain disabilities and disorders. However, while in school, I am fully committed to continuing to work with children in some capacity, whether through babysitting or tutoring – or both!

My personal dogma is that every person should be treated with kindness and respect, and I carry this philosophy with me into my work with children. Any situation can and will be addressed calmly and with the aim of teaching. Whether we’re reading a book, walking to a playdate, having a snack, or dancing around the living room, my goal is to keep the children positively engaged and in good spirits. Children respond to the moods set by the people around them; this is why I always leave my personal life at the door when working with a child: the energy I project to them is and will always be positive. This way, we can all enjoy each other’s company while safely playing and learning.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Working on my Masters in Occupational Therapy at NYU, yoga-ing (it's a word!), tutoring children, rollerblading and jogging, and exploring this city, which I adore.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working with developmentally or otherwise disabled children, either in a school or clinical setting.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

A love of learning (it's possible!), developmentally appropriate yoga and exercise, reading (in English and Russian), dancing around the room (probably on par with the kids), drawing and coloring, preparing and eating healthy snacks.