Jordan B.

Education

The King's College, B.A., Politics, Philosophy, & Economics

Childcare Experience

Camp Counselor
Miami, OK, 06/10 - 06/12
Boys and girls, ages 7-11
Babysitter
Miami, OK, 10/10 - 06/12
Boy, age 6-8
Babysitter
Collinsville, OK, 01/09 - 06/12
Girl, age 7-10; boy age 5-8, girl age 2-5; boy age 1-4

Professional Experience

House Sitter
Miami, OK, 10/11 - 05/12
Cashier
Miami, OK, 07/11 - 12/11

About Me

Having moved here from a town of 13,000 people sitting in the middle of nowhere, Oklahoma, I’ve found the city to be quite the adventure. I left behind a brother, age 7, and a sister, age 13, whom I miss dearly, so I’m looking forward to connecting with kids here in the city. Not to mention, I have 9 cousins all under the age of 12 who I consider to be my biggest fans. I’ve been a sitter ever since I was 13, and have never considered it much of a “job,” because it’s just too much fun. I’ve watched kiddos of all different ages and for all different reasons: from parents going out on “date nights” to going with the family on vacations to acting as a helping hand. I’ve worked in church nursery and Sunday School programs, as well as at a summer camp for 7-11 year olds where I was awarded the “best camp counselor!”

I’ve got a heart that just wants to serve. My career path is in line with helping others and impacting their lives as best as I can. I have a lot of volunteer experience with non-profit organizations (like Charity Water & Habitat for Humanity), and plan to help the Make A Wish foundation this summer. My experience with these kinds of organizations has taught me organizational skills as well as virtues like patience and loving one another.
Along with helping others, I also enjoy exploring and discovering “hole-in-the-wall” places here in the city. I love spending time in parks and coffee shops, but especially museums. I try my best to take hold of any opportunity I get to learn and grow as a person.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school-aged children, Middle school-aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Living in the city for the summer break.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Starting graduate school, ideally studying Public Health/International Development.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Cooking, science projects and experiments, playing all sorts of games -- from baseball to dress-up.