Kirsten M.

Education

Oklahoma City University, Bachelor of Music, Vocal Performance

Childcare Experience

Nanny
New York, NY, 04/12 - Present
Boy, age 13 months-26 months
After-School Nanny and Household Assistant
New York, NY, 01/12 - 09/12
Girl, age 7-8; girl Age 9-10
Nanny
New York, NY, 09/11 - 01/12
Boy, age 2; boy, age 7

Professional Experience

Early Childhood Teacher
New York, NY, 01/13 - Present
Music Teacher
Oklahoma City, OK, 01/11 - 06/11
Musician
Oklahoma City, OK, 08/09 - 05/11
Assistant Manager
Oklahoma City, OK, 02/09 - 09/09

About Me

I moved to New York City in 2011 and have been so happy to work with children while I pursue my artistic career goals. I have over 12 years of babysitting experience, and I have nannied in the city for toddlers and elementary-age children. I’ve found such joy in bringing high quality care and love into the lives of the children and families I’ve worked with. I especially enjoy incorporating music and art into our day-to-day routines and exposing children to classical music. In addition to nannying I also work at the Children’s Museum of the Arts with children under the age of 5. I love to draw, sculpt, and paint with children and I can make a fresh batch of perfect Play-Doh or flubber in less than half an hour! I have experience in tutoring, as well as in the classroom, teaching art and music. I am comfortable with personal assistance and household tasks, and am a competent cook. I am a vegan and love getting kids to eat their veggies!

I am currently pursing a career in comedy, with the hopes of being an actor and writer on film and television. When I’m not nannying, I perform in improv shows several times a week all over the city, take classes, and work on comedy sketches and videos. I also love to make music – I sing and play the guitar, ukulele, and piano. I enjoy spending as much time as possible in the park, expanding my repertoire of vegan recipes (especially desserts!), doing yoga, attending live theater and music, and continuing to explore and discover new things in this amazing city.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Performing and writing comedy and auditioning for film and television roles.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Playing the fun best friend sidekick role on a network sitcom!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Singing, piano, guitar, ukulele, music theory and aural skills, improv and theatre games, music and theatre appreciation, yoga, soccer, visiting art and history museums, making short films, writing music, reading, and science.