Lauren K.

Education

The University of Texas at Austin, B.S., Public Relations

Childcare Experience

Part-time Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 04/13 - Present
Boy, age 11 months on
Part-time Babysitter
Austin, TX, 09/08 - 09/11
Boy, infant-3
Volunteer Tutor
Austin, TX, 01/09 - 05/09
Boys and girls, ages 5-12

Professional Experience

Digital Stragetist
New York, NY , 11/11 - Present
Personal Assistant
New York, NY; Austin, TX, 05/10 - 10/11

About Me

Although media has been my primary focus over the past year, I have always been a caretaker at heart. I have a passion for teaching and guiding young people artistically, athletically, and educationally. I have a background in tutoring students from kindergarten age through middle school age in math and literature. Growing up with a Panamanian mother, I am proficient in the Spanish language and enjoy tutoring in that subject as well. Additionally, I was a dancer for 15 years and played a number of sports including volleyball, basketball and soccer. I can play the guitar and love singing songs and making up plays.

In addition to tutoring, I have also worked as a babysitter for over seven years for children from ages 0 to 9 years old and families of varying backgrounds. I was trained in child and infant CPR at the Red Cross where I also went through an extensive babysitting training course. I am well versed in personal assisting and was the assistant to a professional musician for over a year. I also enjoy cooking and baking healthy meals; I grew up in a natural-foods household with a triathlete father; so healthy eating/cooking is an innate part of my lifestyle.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Performing improv comedy, writing comedy sketches, playing music and enjoying any culture-enriching activities New York has to offer.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Doing something creative and fulfilling.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Conversational Spanish speaker, experience with tutoring math and english, intermediate cooking skills, dance