Mary G.

Education

Loyola Marymount University, B.A., Women's Studies and English

Childcare Experience

Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present
Two girls, ages infant-6 months and 2-3
Part-time Nanny
New York, NY, 01/12 - Present
Four boys, ages 3-5, 6-8, 8-10 and 12-14
Live-in Nanny
New York, NY, 10/11 - 12/11
Three boys, ages 3, 6, and 8

Professional Experience

Site Coordinator
Riverside, CA, 10/10 - 10/11
Youth Development Counselor
New York, NY, 8/09 - 8/10
Day Visit Coordinator
Los Angeles, CA, 8/05 - 5/09

About Me

I was raised in a family of seven children and have a deep love for children and an energetic personality to keep up with even the rowdiest of kids! I have worked in many settings with youth, from babysitting to after school programs and residential facilities. In high school, I worked as a babysitter for a period of two years, caring for one family consistently and other families as needed. Since then I have occasionally cared for children of friends and co-workers as needed.

I relocated to New York City to work as an Americorps Volunteer in the summer of 2009 at a residential facility for young women. I loved exploring the dynamic city of New York with the youth that I worked with, and inspiring them to find their own passions by exposing them to mine—art, music, fitness, and nutrition.

As a counselor in a residential facility, I implemented activities such as yoga classes, poetry tutorials, cooking nights, and art classes with the youth in order to engage with and relate to them. I have found through my work experience that I love utilizing my surroundings to create a fun and interactive environment for children, complete with laughter, enthusiasm, and a healthy dose of corny jokes.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending school to obtain my degree in Speech Language Pathology.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as a speech therapist in an elementary school.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Swimming, yoga, proficient in Spanish