Sarah S.

Education

Taylor University, B.A., Art
New York Academy of Art, M.F.A., Sculpture

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Paoli, PA, 01/01 - 01/05
Boy, age 6-10; boy, age 4-8
Babysitter
Malvern, PA, 01/04 - 12/11
Boy, age 7-14; boy, age 6-13; girl, age 4-11
Babysitter
Malvern, PA, 01/04 - 12/06
Boy, age 7-9; girl, age 6-8
Summer Art Camp Instructor
Upland, IN, 06/09
20 children, ages 5 and 6
Art Tutor
Orvieto, Italy, 06/08-08/08
Girl, age 3
Part-time Nanny
Orvieto, Italy, 06/08-08/08
Girl, age 4

Professional Experience

Production Assistant
Brooklyn, NY, 02/12 - Present
Administrative Assistant
Vienna, VA, 05/11 - 02/12
Art Framer
Paoli, PA, 10/10 - 05/11
Barista
Malvern, PA, 09/10 - 02/11
Gallery Assistant
Upland, IN, 09/09 - 05/10

About Me

I am an art-making, cookie baking, water swimming, Brooklyn bicyclist who loves kids! I am very organized, enjoy cleaning and cooking, and have 10+ years experience with children of all ages and backgrounds.

I grew up in a neighborhood full of families with little kids, and started babysitting when I was practically a kid myself! From that time until leaving for college, I babysat consistently most weekends and many weeknights. In addition to babysitting, I have always loved swimming, and taught children ages 2-12 swimming lessons as my first real job.

I also had the privilege of tutoring a 3-year-old Italian girl in weekly lessons during a semester abroad in Orvieto, ItalyArt helped me again, as many pictures were drawn to help us communicate! While in Italy, I also nannied part time for a 4-year-old Italian girl, whose parents wanted her to learn English.

After college, I worked part time as an Administrative Assistant for a non-profit, and part time as a live-in nanny for my niece. As things settled and she entered preschool, I was no longer needed and I followed my dream of moving to NYC. I am suffering severe withdrawal from her however, and miss her every day.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Making art, visiting museums and galleries, baking cookies and exploring NYC.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Graduated from grad school and making art full time!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I love art projects and crafts, building forts, reading books, running, exploring, baking and cooking.