Ashleigh H.

Education

Catawba College, B.A. Musical Theatre with Dance and Musics minors

Childcare Experience

After-School Babysitter
New York, 03/12 - Present
Two boys, ages 9 and 12

After-School Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/12 - Present
Girl, age 7; boy, infant

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 09/12 - Present
Boy, age 3; girl, age 1

Camp Director
Queens, NY, 07/12 - 8/12
Children, ages 9-15

Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 03/12 - Current
Twin boys, age 5

Professional Experience

Drama Teacher, NY Public Schools
Queens, NY, 02/12 - 06/12

Dance Teacher
Various Locations (NC, CT, NY), 1/08 - Present

About Me

Originally from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, I hold a degree in Musical Theatre from Catawba College, a very small private college in North Carolina. I began working with children at a very early age. When I was nine, I worked for a family reading books and playing with their two year old son so they could get a few extra things done around the house. Since then, I have continued to work with children steadily. I first worked as a travel nanny while accompanying a family to New York City! During college, I worked as a tutor for my college and began teaching dance to middle and high school students. Including my first teaching job in college, I have taught at six dance studios and two performing art programs. Through performance, I have had the opportunity to share what I love with children all over the country! I toured with Theatre IV’s National Touring Children’s theatre for three tours and worked at Tweetsie Railroad, a theme park geared for children eight and under. I also worked as a substitute teacher in two school districts in Connecticut. Throughout my post and pre-college years, I have continued to babysit for various families, and I often sit for the children that I teach.

I moved to New York in September of 2011 to pursue a career in Musical Theatre with an emphasis on choreography. Since then, I have worked steadily as an actor while continuing to work with children in many capacities. I worked for nine months with Once Upon a Time, Inc., a theatre company that focus on bringing theatre to children and elderly in the outer boroughs of New York. I also ran the drama program for a six-week summer camp in Middle Village, Queens that culminated with a full production of Annie, Jr. with 53 children ages 9-15. In addition to my work with children, I babysat for four families on a regular basis.

Although my primary loves are performance related, I also love reading, both for myself and to children, crocheting, practicing yoga, and making jewelry!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Children with special needs, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing a career in musical theatre with an emphasis on choreography.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Making a living solely through the performing arts!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Reading, crocheting, sewing, making jewelry, and pretty much anything crafty! I also enjoy practicing yoga and dancing around in the living room! I also enjoy cooking and baking.