Olivia M.

Education

Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies, Pursuing PhD

Connecticut College, B.A. Psychology

Childcare Experience

Babysitter
Newton, MA, 09/02 - 06/06
Girl, age 8-12; boy age 6-10; boy age 3-7

Temporary Nanny
Brookline, MA, Summers 2006 - 2010
Two girls, age 8-12 and age 5-6

Part-time Babysitter
Newton, MA, Summers 2007 - 2010
Two girls, age 9-12 and 7-10

Daycare Counselor
Needham, MA, Summers 2007 - 2008
Boys and girls, ages 2-4

Professional Experience

Research Coordinator
New York, NY, 8/10 - 10/12

Young Leader Coordinator
Roxbury, MA, 6/09 - 8/09

Teaching Assistant
Newton, MA, 09/02 - 6/06

About Me

Since graduating from college, I have pursued a career in clinical psychology doing research at NYU Medical Center and beginning a doctoral program at Adelphi University. I grew up babysitting and am very excited to connect with new families and children in New York.

I have over 13 years of childcare experience across many different settings and with all ages, from weekly babysitting, to teaching the English language to French sixth-graders, to working with toddlers in a daycare. I am energetic and can keep up with an active household, yet can easily facilitate restful activities. I have a clerical background and excel in organization and time-management, and love to try new recipes or have baking adventures. Singing is a part of my life and I encourage musical education with all children, as well as reading and physical activity. In addition to a passionate focus on my studies, I enjoy taking advantage of all the cultural activities the city has to offer and running on the East River.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending a graduate program to receive my PhD in Clinical Psychology.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working in a successful private practice in New York or nearby suburbs, teaching part-time at a university, and beginning a family of my own!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I lived in Paris for a semester where I became very proficient in French. I love outdoor activities, including swimming and exploring/playing games in the park. I love to bake and try new recipes, and I am always up for fun craft projects!