Amanda M.

Education

Teachers College, Columbia University, Candidate for M.A. in K-12 Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
Western Michigan University, B.A., Journalism

Childcare Experience

Weekend Babysitter
Brooklyn, NY, 12/12 - Present
Boy, age 7; girl, age 5; twin boy and girl, age 1
Occasional Babysitter
New York, NY, 10/12 - Present
Girl, age 1

Professional Experience

Resident Counselor
Los Angeles, CA, 06/12 - 08/12
1st Grade English Teacher
Sumatra, Indonesia, 09/11 - 06/12
ESL Teacher/Activities Leader
Jersey City, NJ, 05/11 - 08/11
Language Counselor
Arreau, France, 03/11 - 05/11

About Me

Originally from Michigan, my journey has taken me to Philadelphia, France, Indonesia, and Los Angeles, and has been punctuated by unique experiences that have helped me to develop into a flexible, empathetic, creative teacher and caregiver. I am the fifth child in a family of seven and so childcare, helping around the house, and being available to pitch in when necessary has always been a part of my life. At present, I am an aunt to a crew of ten nieces and nephews who range in age from one to eight years old, and includes a set of two-year-old twins, one of whom has Down’s Syndrome.

These collective experiences have resulted in my strong understanding of the importance of patience, of knowing how to make exciting projects from minimal materials, of gaining the respect of/giving respect to children, and of keeping safety at the forefront of every activity or adventure.

In my free time, I enjoy playing the guitar and singing. While in Indonesia, a co-worker got me a ukulele from the Philippines and so learning how to play it has become my newest hobby. In addition to music, I am an avid writer and quite the whiz in the kitchen. I am especially known for my lemonade cookies and my super flakey homemade pie crusts!

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples, Children with special needs

I will be SmartSitting while…

Doing my graduate work in TESOL at Teachers College, Columbia University.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Holding an MA in TESOL (teaching English to speakers of other languages) from Teachers College, Columbia University and working an English teacher at an international school where I will also be writing a book about my adventures in teaching English all over this fine globe!

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I play guitar and am learning how to play the ukulele. I also love to sing, write and draw. I am a great baker and can cook too. I know a little Indonesian from my time living there and can teach English to people from anywhere in the world. I have taught students with disabilities including blindness, deafness, spastic disorder, autism and Down's Syndrome and I loved every moment. I am also a great swimmer and love sports and have been a runner and volleyball player most of my life.