Charlotte T.

Education

Columbia University, Candidate for Master of Public Health

Occidental College, Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Education

Childcare Experience

On-Call Babysitter
New York, NY, 06/13 - Present
Boy, age 7 months - 8 months

On-Call Babysitter
Dobbs Ferry, NY, 10/12 - Present
Girl, age 3 months - 11 months

Full-Time Nanny
Scarsdale, NY, 05/10 - 08/10
Girl, age 4-5; boy, age 2-3

Professional Experience

Literacy Educator
New York, NY, 09/12 - 06/13

NYC Department of Health Program Assistant
New York, NY, 06/11 - 01/12

Retail Employee
Dobbs Ferry, NY, 06/08 - 07/10

About Me

I graduated from Occidental College in 2012 with a B.A. in Sociology and Education. Since moving back to New York, I have been working at The Children’s Village – an organization dedicated to helping New York’s most vulnerable youth. I teach a group of six middle school girls in all academic subjects during an after-school program, specializing in literacy. Additionally, I have years of tutoring experience and interned in the Dominican Republic, teaching orphaned boys of the Dominican and Haiti. Come Fall 2013, I plan to pursue a Master of Public Health degree at Columbia University.

I have over nine years of babysitting experience, for infants and children of all ages. I am certified in CPR, First Aid, and Automatic External Defibrillation. In addition to offering academic assistance, I am a talented cook, a firm believer in active and creative play, and a lover of the great outdoors! When working with children, I am deeply committed to safety and structure. I believe that every moment should be devoted to child enrichment. I constantly encourage children to display compassion, learning, language and imagination through fun activities. Personally, I enjoy running, hiking, and traveling. I am a competitive horseback rider and I love to frequent New York City’s cultural exhibits. I look forward to furthering my knowledge in child development and public health through further academic study.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children, Multiples

I will be SmartSitting while…

Attending graduate school at Columbia University's School of Public Health.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Working as a health care consultant to improve access to medical care in disadvantaged neighborhoods.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

I am a talented cook, competitive horseback rider, and a trained literacy tutor. I love to get kids outside to play or do imaginative arts and crafts!