Katie T.

Education

University of Minnesota, B.F.A., Dance

Childcare Experience

Personal Care Assistant
Minneapolis, MN, 09/11 - 06/12
Boy, age 7
Summer Nanny
Chanhassen, MN, Summers 2008 & 2010
Girl, age 6-8; girl, age 7-9
Summer Nanny
Victoria, MN, Summer 2012
Girl, age 12; boy, age 11

Professional Experience

Assistant Teacher / Summer Musical Theatre Camp Instructor
Chanhassen, MN, 2003 - 2011
Dancer
Shakopee, MN, Fall 2010
Choreographer
Chaska, MN, 2007 - 2009

About Me

I grew up in a small town in Minnesota, 30 minutes southwest of Minneapolis. My passion for dance started at the age of 3, and that passion grew to include musical theatre when I was in 3rd grade and performing in my first musical with my dad at our local community theatre. As I continued to train in dance, I began assisting and eventually teaching classes and working the summer musical theatre camps. These opportunities allowed me to work with kids from the ages of 3-18 and I truly loved every minute of it.

While working at the dance studio, I saw a posting at the dance studio I was working at, and aconnected with a family was looking for a summer nanny, so I sent them my information and ended up nannying for them family for two summers. DuringIn my senior year at the University of Minnesota, I became a Personal Care Assistant (PCA), and I looked after a 7-year-old boy. These experiences showed me how valuable it is to do more than just look after children, but rather to be their friend, their mentor and their teacher.

As a nanny and PCA, I was able to help with cooking, cleaning, laundry and the basic health needs of the children. I love to cook, but I do work best with a recipe in the kitchen (especiallyp. in regards to gluten free and other dietary needs). My hobbies include anything arts related, traveling, taking pictures, and enjoying time well spent with friends and family.

I have professional childcare experience with…

Infants, Toddlers, Pre-school aged children, Elementary school aged children, Middle school aged children

I will be SmartSitting while…

Pursuing a career in musical theatre.

In 5 years, I hope to be…

Dancing on Broadway.

Activities & skills I love to teach & share with children…

Proficient in German, dancer, singer, basic juggler