For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

MORNING BABYSITTER: Williamsburg $25/hr boy, almost 2! (dPTCM92018)

Apply Now

Overview

This lovely Williamsburg family is looking to work with a SmartSitter two of the following days (SmartSitter's choice): Monday, 2/3 PM - 6 PM, Wednesday, 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM, and/or Friday, 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM. The family has a very sweet and bright almost 2-year-old boy. The position will start in October. $25/hour Yay? Yes? If so, please apply today! ***In your application, please include your preferred two working days.***

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

It's important that you're a really good listener and that you're sensitive to the toddler. He requires a sort of nuanced attention. You don't have to have a prescriptive idea of being with a toddler, sing song-y voice, that sort of thing. Sometimes he'll need four visits before he warms up. Once he sits on your lap or takes you by the hand, you're good! Let him lead in terms of affection and try not to be prescriptive in terms of activities. (If he hands you a xylophone, ask him what we can do with it instead of taking it and playing it right away.) Let him take ownership of his discovery of things. The family is looking for someone who is mature and someone who can understand that it is difficult for mom to be leaving her little one in the care of someone who she is just meeting and that it's an act of trust for her. CPR/First Aid is a must.

Schedule

TWO of the following days, SmartSitter's Choice: Monday, 2 or 3 PM - 6 PM Wednesday, 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM Friday, 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM + additional evenings/weekends occasionally

About the Children

boy, almost 2 - He's a toddler boy. He likes to scoot around and climb on the sofa. He also loves sitting on your lap and reading books for 25 minutes. He has a handful of words that he uses over and over. He adds a new word every couple of days.

Responsibilities

Morning: Arrive at 8:30 AM. The little boy will be up and dressed and his diaper will be changed. He has a roaming breakfast (fruit and toast) and it's out on a bench. He doesn't do breakfast in a high chair. If he's not voluntarily going to eat, nudge breakfast along. There's a lot of playing in general - reading, singing songs, and playing the xylophone. Around 10:30 AM, the breakfast goes away. At 11:50 AM, prepare a simple lunch. Lunch is usually 12 PM - 12:30 PM. Lunch is important as it fills him up so he has a better sleep. At 12:30 PM, he should be done with lunch and clean up any messes from lunch or playing (put away blocks, dishes, etc.). He'll have a nap. Mom would come in and take over and put him in for his nap 12:45/1 - 2/2:15 PM. He wakes up happy after his nap as long as he has at least 90 minutes. If you're helping in the afternoon: Pick him up for a nap. Snuggle snuggle, snack snack, play play! Dinner happens around 5:30 PM - 6:15 PM. Lunch and dinner are in the high chair. Then he'll have a bath, a song, and a book. He goes to bed at 7 PM. Parents will handle bed time for now. He had trouble with bed time previously and mom is happy to help with this for now.

Additional Information

***In your application, please include your preferred two working days.***

  • Rate

    $25/hour

    Commitment

    ongoing, long-term

    Total Hours per Week

    8

    Apply Now

© 2018 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.