For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Brooklyn Heights, $25/hour for 9 hours/week, with two kids, 3 & 6! kPTDF12818

Apply Now

Overview

We've worked with this lovely Brooklyn Heights family for years and we're looking forward to introducing them to their new SmartSitter! The family has a very sweet 6-year-old girl and 3-year-old boy. Mom is a SAHM and will be splitting up all the responsibilities, so typically you will be with one child at a time. The core schedule is Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays 2 - 5 PM, plus flexibility to assist additionally on occasion. It's $25/hour for 9 hours/week! The position start date is in the new year and interviews will begin immediately. Yay? Yes? If so, please apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The family is looking for someone who will communicate well with mom and who will articulate in speaking with therapists and sharing feedback with mom. The family is looking to work with someone who is gentle, patient, creative, and smart. Mom is happy to be the "tough" one so it's helpful if you're not naturally a strong disciplinarian, so this person will be the fun and active sitter. However, it is helpful to help set and follow through on good boundaries. Someone who isn't thrown by an upset child and who has understanding with the boy especially who understands he is working through his challenges in life. Next, it's important that you have experience living in the city and commuting with kids. It's okay if you don't know Brooklyn Heights in particular, mom is happy to fill you in on kid friendly local spots. It is important you're comfortable taking the subway or an Uber with kids. Lastly, the family is looking for someone who is a team player and comfortable working alongside a mom and splitting up responsibilities. There will be a bit of cooking involved (get a simple dinner started for the kids). A "chipping in" attitude in general is great. If you have taken classes in education or a child related field this is a plus.

Schedule

The core schedule is Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays 2 - 5 PM. Flexibility to do more hours on an as needed basis is a plus.

About the Children

girl, 6- She's highly imaginative; she loves all types of dramatic play and acting out stories. She loves art and reading, the playground, and continuing her dramatic play outside. She is very verbal, spunky, and smart. She is a good listener and has a great temperament. She loves the company of adults and warms to sitters quite quickly. boy, 3 - He is really calm and has a super sweet personality. He receives speech, PT, OT. The SmartSitter would take him and wait in the waiting room. He can be rigid and thinks in a specific way.

Responsibilities

Work with a SAHM to help give her another set of hands to help with pickup from school. Mom will typically help with school pick up for the daughter and you'll typically be with the little boy. The little boy has speech, PT, and OT, and you'll bring him and wait in the waiting room. Bring the little boy home and help in general with meal prep, loading and emptying the dishwasher, and laundry for the kids. Mom will be around so you'll typically work with her as a team.

  • Rate

    $25/hour

    Commitment

    2-3 months, ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    9

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.