For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: Stuy Town, $25/hour for 30 hour/week guaranteed, plus a metrocard, with girls, 6&2! kPTCD11519

Apply Now

Overview

This lovely Stuy Town family has two girls, ages 2 and 6, and they're looking to work with a SmartSitter Monday through Friday, 12 PM - 6 PM. It is $25/hour, $750/week + a monthly metrocard. They are looking for someone fun, outgoing, easy going, proactive mature, safety conscious, and a craft and imaginary play person extraordinaire! They are looking for an upfront commitment through the summer, with the option of continuing for a longer-term relationship and commitment. Yay? Yes? If so, please apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The family is looking to work with someone with an energetic and upbeat spirit who is tidy, a lot of fun, and yet very responsible and mature. Someone who is confident, outgoing, and all around fun-loving is ideal. They are ideally looking for a commitment for a couple of years if possible, even if it's initially an upfront commitment through the summer. They are looking for someone who will teach nice manners, be attentive, caring, and loving, proactive, and aware of their surroundings. A knowledge of NYC and being comfortable moving about the city with two young girls is paramount. It's important that you are not on your phone at all and that you focus on the children and the tasks at hand (playing, doing an educational activity, cleaning up, etc.) They are looking for someone who will teach right from wrong and someone who is discerning and mature. Someone with experience with multiples in this age group and even a sibling themselves is ideal. The girls do argue and they are currently working on conflict resolution between the two as the oldest begins to assert herself to find her place in the dynamic. The youngest needs more help with reading comprehension, so someone who can make homework fun and approach it with a more relaxed and easy going feeling will be best. They like to make her feel like she is part of the story and a big and fun imagination works best with her. Additionally, using your imagination to come up with fun and super engaging arts and crafts will never go unnoticed! Both girls really thrive when begin engaged in these types of activities and the parents are really looking for a sitter who can turn the rainiest and boring days into a fun adventure for their girls. This person will truly be counted on by mom and dad who both work full-time and will play a huge role in the girls' development.

Schedule

Monday through Friday, 12 PM - 6 PM + Flexibility to come at 8 AM for a full day is paramount, or in the evening (always with notice).

About the Children

girl, age 6 - She's in first grade 8 AM - 3 PM with some days until 4:30 PM. She has after school three days (pick up is crosstown on 10th Avenue). She's talkative, opinionated, and very funny. She picks up what's going on around her. She pushes the boundaries as to what she can get away with and she is starting to assert herself to find her place in the world more. Ex: She may say,"Mommy says I can watch Nick Jr." if she's not allowed to. She's a little bit more reserved and cerebral. She loves arts and crafts. girl, age 2 - She's very talkative. She's babbling and talking in full sentences. She'll tell you what she wants to eat and when she's ready for a nap. She's more physical. They are both bright. They both love to read, draw with markers; anything crafty is their jam! They love setting up their stuffed animals and imaginative play with them.

Responsibilities

On Tuesdays and Thursdays, the 1 1/2-year-old has preschool, 9 AM - 12 PM. Pick her up in Midtown East, take the Express bus home down second avenue, and give her a snack. Then she'll have a nap. Wake up, engage her in play. Meanwhile, mom helps to split up the responsibilities, so if you're with the little one, she'll pick up the 3-year-old. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, meet at home at 12 PM. The position overall is mostly with the almost 2-year-old. Additional responsibilities include light housekeeping (folding the girls' laundry), wiping down the table, or cleaning crumbs from the dining room table. Motivate the girls to help clean up after activities. There's some travel later in the afternoon to get the 6-year-old girl and then you'll be with both girls typically for 30-60 minutes at the end of day. Mom will often make dinner. Occasionally help (chop onions, dice garlic etc. occasionally).

Additional Information

The family is interviewing asap and the position can start asap or in March.

  • Rate

    $25/hour gross

    Commitment

    at least through summer, and ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    30 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.