For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

PART TIME BABYSITTER: UES, $500-625/week, with two kids, 5.5 and 8! kASAK3519

Apply Now

Overview

We have a wonderful new long-term afterschool position on the UES. They are looking for help in the afternoons about 20-25 hours/week with two kids, 5.5 and 8 years old. The new SmartSitter will be working alongside mom to split the responsibilities of the afterschool routine. It's $20-25/hour for 20-25 hours/week. The position will begin in April with interviews taking place immediately!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

Someone who is loving, patient, kind, and nurturing. An honest, reliable, responsible, trustworthy sitter who can be conscious of the kids when they are moving about the city. Someone who really enjoys being with kids and engaging them when together. A creative and confident sitter who values learning with the kids is huge for them! Someone who can learn about the kids interests and really incorporate those into their creative and engaged time together. Reading with them is highly encouraged and sometimes the same stories 100 times :)! Someone who is easy going and can go with the flow in terms of responsibilities as they are working alongside mom and the times shift a bit. Mom typically texts the sitter the week before to give them the run down of the coming week, including the schedule and who will be with who during each day.

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday through Friday, from about 1 or 2 PM-7 or 7:30 PM. Mom typically texts the sitter the week before to give them the run down of the coming week, including the schedule and who will be with who during each day. Flexibility to stay later in the evenings for occasional nights out is a plus. In summer, the kids are fully around in June, so the hours are typically closer to 30+ hours/week. They are gone all of July and August, and happy to have someone help in the city with some PA tasks and come for a few days at a time in the Hamptons to help for overnights.

About the Children

boy, 5.5- He is finishing pre-K and goes to a different school. He is so charming and has a great charisma and enthusiasm. He is empathetic and so so kind. He is super active and really athletic. He loves sports, but also loves chess. He is starting to read and you can really see the thinking going on in his head. He is like his sister in his love of learning. He loves to do art and crafts and baking, too. He is a dinosaur expert and an animal enthusiast. He loves to share his knowledge, too. He had developmental delays that he has outgrown. girl, 8- She is in 2nd grade. She is really bright and articulate. She loves to chat and learn. She is inquisitive and thoughtful and has been that way since she was born! She loves school and to read. She is just really sweet, eager, and smart. She loves gymnastics and playing tennis, too. She is really social and nurturing with her brother. She loves arts and crafts, too. They are wonderful kids and really kind! The family is big on having really kind, nice, and engaging kids.

Responsibilities

Working alongside mom to tackle the afternoon routine. They will split picking up the kids, taking them to activities, playdates, or home for play. They will all eventually meet at home for dinner and bathtime. They will help preparing dinner for the kids, tidying up after meal prep and meal time, helping the kids tidying up after playtime, etc. They will help to do some light housework like emptying the dishwasher, etc. In the later evenings, they will help supervise bathtime and bedtime. In the summer, they go away to the Hamptons and would love to have someone out to stay and help out for a few days at a time to get in the weekly hours. Mom's family is from NYC and they do Friday afternoon cousin playdates!

  • Rate

    $20-25/hour gross

    Commitment

    at least through June, and ideally 1-2 years

    Total Hours per Week

    20-25 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.