For Nannies & Babysitters

Open Jobs

FULL-TIME: Afterschool in The Village $30/hour, $54-62k, West Village, 35-40 hrs/wk, girl, 7, boy, 5.5! kASBW3719

Apply Now

Overview

This family is super warm and loving and they will be really wonderful employers! The position is Monday through Friday, from 1 or 2 PM to 10 PM. They have two energetic, sensitive, and thoughtful kids, 7 and 5.5 years old. It's $30/hour gross for 35-40 hours/week guaranteed (SmartSitter's choice)! Please apply today!

The Ideal Sitter for this Job

The SmartSitter should be loving, caring, responsible, trustworthy, playful, and creative. They should be experienced and knowledgeable about childcare (having child development educational background is a bonus). They should be able to help kids resolve conflict in an effective, caring and thoughtful manner, and must be able to be active with the kids. Someone who has a great deal of maturity, excellent judgment, flexibility on the weekdays and some weekends, and can have a good balance between being a caring nanny as well as one who has authority and whom the kids listen to is paramount. The kids really thrive when they have someone who is strong, can keep up with them, has a great sense of humor, is mature, but is also calm and collected. Spanish-speaking and Serbian-speaking is a bonus! If you're a dog person this is great! The pup has a walker 2-3 times/day. Help occasionally with feeding or possibly a walk. The family is looking for someone to teach the kids by example and help them to problem solve. Lastly, the family is looking for someone who can help with homework help.

Schedule

The core schedule is Monday to Friday from 1 or 2 PM to somewhere between 6-10 PM. The schedule end time fluctuates, so sometimes the sitter may leave as early as 6 PM and sometimes as late as 10 PM. They are happy to provide notice and appreciate flexibility as well. The family is looking for some flexibility for full days on school holidays and someone who is occasionally available to stay overnight if mom is traveling for work. They will always guarantee at least 35 hours/week to their new SmartSitter! Occasional Saturday evening help is a plus to add up to 40 hours/week!

About the Children

Girl, age 7- She is creative, loves to sing and dance, and loves to learn. She likes to write and draw, and loves to do arts and crafts. She is smart, inquisitive, and curious. She is a little slow to warm up and then will love you forever. Boy, age 5.5 - He is cuddly, affectionate, loving, fearless, active, and curious. He is also talkative, sweet, smart, and kind. He loves taekwondo and ninjas, and loves to build things! Safety comes first with him, as he can be quite fearless. They are both sensitive, smart, creative and willful children. They have a lot of energy and need cognitive and physical stimulation and thoughtfulness.

Responsibilities

Arrive at 1 PM if coming early to assist with meal prep or grocery shopping. Pick up the kids from school, take them to their activities or park (depending on the day), bring them home, prepare dinner (they're picky eaters, no specific allergies, ex: chicken, beans, rice, broccoli, cauliflower, lentil soup), engage them in fun and educational activities, may help with bedtime routine, or do the bedtime routine. Occasionally, you will be working alongside mom, too!

Additional Information

They are really looking for someone who can join their team for the long-term and really make a lasting bond with them over a few years.

  • Rate

    $30/hour gross

    Commitment

    at least one year, ideally longer

    Total Hours per Week

    35-40 hours/week guaranteed

    Apply Now

© 2019 SmartSitting, Inc. All rights reserved.